Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   ilok via a usb hub ? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=395321)

Matt Darcy 11-26-2017 02:59 PM

ilok via a usb hub ?
 
I'd like to have my ilok plugged into a USB hub plugged into my mac.
However everytime I open pro-tools 12 with my ilok plugged into a usb hub the license fails to be detected and I have to plug the ilok into the mac directly, this wastes a port on the new macs with only 2 usb ports.

Have any of you got the mac working with a usb hub and the ilok plugged in to it ? what hub did you use ? did you make any software changes to get it detected ?

thanks.

Southsidemusic 11-26-2017 03:07 PM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
We have two usb hubs on each tashcan mac and one usb2 hub for the ilok only onmy brand new MBP and all works great.

However on one of the trashcans we had to get a powered hub as the trackball and midi interface was on the same hub it lost ilok connection too many times to not do something about it.

Check for powered usb2 hub for ilok as usb3 has issues of its own.

Dan IceWood 11-27-2017 08:34 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
What speed USB hub are you using ?

Southsidemusic 11-27-2017 08:57 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Just a normal USB2 hub. The less fancy the better for ilok keys

albee1952 11-27-2017 09:10 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
I know that USB3 used to be a "no go" for iLoks, but for the last 3 months(or more) I have 3 iLok 2's in a USB3 powered hub with zero issues(yes, its connected to a USB3 port on the PC). I do think you probably NEED a powered hub:o

Matt Darcy 12-02-2017 03:31 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
that would be really disappointing if you "need" a powered usb hub,

I've also had the same issue with my ilok using usb port on a powered thunderbolt 2 dock.

The amount of hassle and pain iloks cause on a day to day basis is shocking.

musicman691 12-02-2017 04:20 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt Darcy (Post 2462243)
that would be really disappointing if you "need" a powered usb hub,

I've also had the same issue with my ilok using usb port on a powered thunderbolt 2 dock.

The amount of hassle and pain iloks cause on a day to day basis is shocking.

I actually like having a powered USB hub - gives me a place to plug my cell phone into to charge it when I'm working.

Matt Darcy 12-02-2017 04:25 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
wasting a plug socket just for the ilok is very unappealing

musicman691 12-02-2017 04:30 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt Darcy (Post 2462248)
wasting a plug socket just for the ilok is very unappealing

May be unappealing but if you need it so you can work than appealing goes out the window.

Drew Mazurek 12-02-2017 04:40 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt Darcy (Post 2462243)
The amount of hassle and pain iloks cause on a day to day basis is shocking.

iLok cloud licenses will make this a thing of the past. Well, at least they'll be different hassles! :)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com