Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 10 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=354217)

Seafoam_Green 05-05-2014 08:10 PM

My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
I have a problem with my windows version of PRO TOOLS 10.3.8 - It is NOT opening up during Pro Tools "start up" :confused:


This problem has never happened before until now .


What actaually happens is ;

- I click to open Pro Tools 10.3.8 ,

- The Opening Pro Tools 10 Banner displays ,

...,and the plug ins begin to load as usual - ie; Until the loading plugin list HANGS, when it reaches a plugin called " Massive aax plugin "


At this point of Opening Pro Tools ..., it then " FREEZES UP " on my PC :confused: ,


..., and I get this WARNING message ; " Could not complete your request because of an unknown exception " :confused:

The only was I can close the half opened (and frozen) pro Tools 10.3.8 at this stage is to open up my Task Manager and close it from there ?


Other points are ;

- Pro Tools 11.1.3 , is working fine .

- Ive also uninstalled my PT 10.3.8 , and then re-installed it , in an attempt to find a fix ..., but I'm still getting problems :confused:

- Also , Massive ( Native Instruments) opens up on my desktop just fine .


Could anyone please offer some advice for a fix ..., cheers :-)


Windows PC , Toshiba Qosmio Laptop i7 , 1.87 Ghz , 16 GB ram , MBox Pro

cwsand 05-05-2014 09:48 PM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
Since it's freezing while loading Massive, I'd either remove the plugin from the plugins folder, or uninstall it and see if Pro Tools will open. If PT opens, then the problem is most likely with Massive. Maybe reinstalling it will work, or check if there are any updates available. Also, 10.3.9 is now available which might help.

Dot 05-06-2014 09:07 AM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
I had whole bunch of problems with NI stuff in pro tools 10, I have komplete 9 ultimate which is unusable in PT10. It works perfectly fine in PT11 but i removed both aax and rtas from 10. Try removing aax plugins 1st and keep rtas only that might help.

Seafoam_Green 05-06-2014 06:29 PM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
Thanks for the tips guys ....., but still having problems ?


I have removed Massive.aax from c; programe files \ common files\avid\audio\plugins


I then tried to open Pro Tools (windows) Ver 10.3.8 after removing massive ......., and ...., I got this error message again ......, " Pro Tools Aplication has stopped working , a problem caused the program to stop working correctly . Windows will close the programe and notify you if a solution is available. (which it doesnt ? )

ps ; regarding uninstalling massive completely (ie; if its actually massive causing the problem ) ..., I cant find an uninstaller for any native instruments located anywhere at all on my PC ?

Also I tried restarting my PC a few times and re-attempted to open Protools 10 ......, and I got the same message each time (ie; Pro Tools Application has stopped working" ?

- this time the actual PT start-up hung on ..., (ie; before the PT has stopped working message appeared)
- loading up the ..........,

- "T-RackS brickwall limiter" ,
- Then again later on loading "McDSP6030" ????

........., both of which I previously have used extensively on PT10 in the past ???

because of this , I dont think its massive causing the problems but something else ?


Any more Ideas guys ? , I REALLY, REALLY appreciate all you help and suggestions , thx :)

Seafoam_Green 05-08-2014 06:10 AM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
bump ..., anyone ?

zedhed 05-09-2014 12:05 AM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
Have you tried trashing prefs?

Seafoam_Green 05-10-2014 06:02 AM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zedhed (Post 2155487)
Have you tried trashing prefs?

How do I do that Zedhead :confused:
cheers

musicman691 05-10-2014 07:53 AM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Seafoam_Green (Post 2155760)
How do I do that Zedhead :confused:
cheers

Easy - get Trasher which is written by guitardom (poster here).

Back a couple of posts you mentioned about uninstalling Massive. Can't be done as there's no uninstaller as such for individual NI programs. The best you can do is to either move the plugin to the unused plugins folder, delete PT databases, and restart PT. That way you can find out if it's truly Massive causing the problem. If you just delete the Massive .aax or .dpm file you'll have to do a re-install; much easier to just move it to the unused plugins folder.

Then you also mentioned having problems with other plugins (McDSP and TRacks) and as you surmised you have other issues going on. I would totally uninstall PT and all third party plugins, get CCCleaner and clean out the Windows Registry of anything PT related and third party plugin related, reboot the computer and reinstall just PT10.3.8 and the Avid Instruments and see where that gets you. A lot of work but then again considering the issues you're having it may be the only real way of fixing things.

cwsand 05-12-2014 11:18 PM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2155774)
Then you also mentioned having problems with other plugins (McDSP and TRacks) and as you surmised you have other issues going on. I would totally uninstall PT and all third party plugins, get CCCleaner and clean out the Windows Registry of anything PT related and third party plugin related, reboot the computer and reinstall just PT10.3.8 and the Avid Instruments and see where that gets you. A lot of work but then again considering the issues you're having it may be the only real way of fixing things.

All great ideas - make sure you also have done ALL the Pro Tools Windows 7 Optimizations as well. If a clean reinstall of Pro Tools after all this still doesn't help - you might be looking at reformatting your system drive and reinstalling Windows 7. Of course, have a backup plan!

Seafoam_Green 05-13-2014 07:32 AM

Re: My Windows PRO TOOLS Ver 10.3.8 - Wont Open ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cwsand (Post 2156327)
All great ideas - make sure you also have done ALL the Pro Tools Windows 7 Optimizations as well. If a clean reinstall of Pro Tools after all this still doesn't help - you might be looking at reformatting your system drive and reinstalling Windows 7. Of course, have a backup plan!

Cheers guys , I tried the tips (incl optimizations) ...., and now the loading plug-ins are hanging on BF76 :confused::(

I may have to resort to plan B ( reformat all hard drives , re-install windows , then EVERYTHING else :eek: )

I dont have the patience for it now and may have to wait a few weeks for the full PC mass re-install ...., as I just got PT 11.1.3 running how I want it , and if it wasnt for slate VCC and FG-X I wouldnt even bother with PT10

Anyway its good for a clean , but last time was in October 2013 , oh well - here goes again

cheers guys


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com