Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Help with glitchy popping clicking sound in ProTools (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=281988)

ffud 09-13-2010 03:55 AM

Help with glitchy popping clicking sound in ProTools

I just installed ProTools 8.0.4 on my new computer. When I try to record anything I get glitchy popping clicking sound. I think it sounds similar or the the same as when the bit rate or clock sync is messed up, but I tried to investigate that and it seems like everything is in order. (However, I'm pretty new to this so if someone can point out how to check this for sure that would be cool)

I'm using an Mbox 2. With my old computer I had LE 7.4 with the same mbox, but my new machine is Windows 7 so I upgraded. For a couple days I was running 7.4 on my new machine (I found a registry patch that kinda made it work but it was SUPER unstable and kept crashing) Because I had 7.4 it working for a bit I think hardware related problems can be ruled out.

Any thoughts on how to get rid of this unwanted annoying sound?

Thanks

spkguitar 09-13-2010 09:32 AM

Re: Help with glitchy popping clicking sound in ProTools

How are you connecting the MBox 2?

Also, did you do a clean OS installation after trying 7.4? If not, the "patch" that you did might be screwing everything up.

For the record, I had similar issues with the MBox 2 Mini (same general interface, just less features) and changing the USB port that it was plugged into solved the problem for me.

Also, you need to make sure that Windows is not set to power down the USB devices.

itsjedward 09-13-2010 10:18 AM

I have a similar problem still. I talked to someone at guitar center and he said that if it's a constant buzzing/clicking sound then its a hardware problem (i.e.: headphones, audio interface, midi controller,) rather than a software thing.