Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 11 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=363738)

Brooklyn1 01-28-2015 06:10 PM

Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3
 
Hello All,

I just upgraded from Pro Tools 9 to the latest Pro Tools 11.3.0

I called my sales rep to make sure there wouldn't be any issues opening up a PT version 9 session as I still had one album I need to finish for a commercial label.

This was the best time for me to change over as I just completed three records and had a small window before I get swamped with editing.

Basically the new software is running on a new quad-core Mac I7 with 16 gigs of ram and SSD drive running Max OSX Yosemite. It seems stable and I've had no crashes or glitches since I installed the new PT software last night.

UNTIL NOW.

Basically, I opened up a version 9 project which I was in the middle of editing.
Everything opened and loaded. The waveforms and fades took a while to generate as there were hours of takes to choose from.

All crossfades seem to be there with no missing segments. However...........
When I took a listen, the edits are all over the place and go to and from takes from completely different files from the same sessions.

I also noticed that a new version of the session was saved as .ptx
I'm assuming this is because it was a version 9 session and it won't automatically save to version 11.

I really did wait as long as possible until most of my projects were complete because a foresaw a possible issue and didn't want to lose any editing work but alas, I gave up my 9 license and I'm completely screwed and will lose at least 3 or 4 days of editing work if I can't figure out how to fix this.

Not the end of the world mind you, but a huge pain in my ass.

One thing I did do however was save my original edit session in version 9. Can I simply convert it to a PT 11 session (after making a copy of course) instead of just opening the 9 session in version 11 and hoping for the best?

Many thanks for any insight. I'm not giving up hope.

Brooklyn1 01-28-2015 06:17 PM

Re: Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3
 
One last thing. I also have one computer which still has the version 9 software on it (although I no longer have the 9 License). Perhaps I can open it at a studio here in NY after hiring it out for an hour or two and using someone else's Ilok and at least figure out a way to save the three or four days of editing work :(

albee1952 01-28-2015 07:05 PM

Re: Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Brooklyn1 (Post 2226898)
One last thing. I also have one computer which still has the version 9 software on it (although I no longer have the 9 License). Perhaps I can open it at a studio here in NY after hiring it out for an hour or two and using someone else's Ilok and at least figure out a way to save the three or four days of editing work :(

I would try using your current iLok to see if it will allow 9 to run. Barring that, borrowing is certainly 1 solution. Creating a new blank session and importing session data would be my next move(call the new session "project name_PT11"):o

TOM@METRO 01-28-2015 07:47 PM

Re: Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3
 
You have a PT 10 license right? Try opening the session in 10.

Michael Zull 01-28-2015 08:30 PM

Re: Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3
 
You could also create a new session in PT11 and using "Import Session Data" to import all the tracks from the PT9 session, give it a shot.

Brooklyn1 01-29-2015 01:15 PM

Re: Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3
 
Thanks for the tips. I tried it again and imported the session data. Same deal.
Then I used the same drive which had the original audio folders (I had copied and pasted them to a newer and faster drive). Finally that worked. I am now replacing the newer files with the original ones and saving it as a new sessiion. I appreciate all the tips. Can't believe I forgot about import session data. Duh!!!

JFreak 01-29-2015 01:50 PM

Re: Problem when opening PT 9 session in PT 11.3
 
The problem here is that all of the plugins used in the PT9 session will have to be available as AAX64 (the PT11 format) and if some of the plugins are missing from the new setup, some tracks won't be able to open all plugins.

That's why PT10 was suggested, because it can still run old plugins. But it is not supported on Yosemite so it should be installed to the old computer.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com