Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | S6 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=403483)

jgaz 02-20-2019 09:43 AM

changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Has anyone else experienced this? Even with the control room monitors cut and volume pulled down to -100%, my monitors are popping when I change the sample rate or clock source in DADman.

Thanks,

Jeff

creativecontrol 02-20-2019 10:19 AM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Greetings,

What do you have your Adapt To set to for your particular clock choice?


best,



Jeff

jgaz 02-20-2019 10:38 AM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Hi Jeff,

Small correction, it's when I change sample rate (when Adapt To is set to "internal") or when I change the Adapt To setting that it pops my monitors (say from internal to Dante or MADI).

Thanks,

Jeff


Quote:

Originally Posted by creativecontrol (Post 2517230)
Greetings,

What do you have your Adapt To set to for your particular clock choice?


best,



Jeff


BScout 02-20-2019 02:20 PM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jgaz (Post 2517225)
Has anyone else experienced this? Even with the control room monitors cut and volume pulled down to -100%, my monitors are popping when I change the sample rate or clock source in DADman.

Thanks,

Jeff

I do not have this issue, if that helps for comparison.

All digital will pop when changing sample rates but cutting the monitors doesn't pass the pop to to the speakers. Cut is a complete mute.

However, I'm curious what your monitors are. Are they hooked by digital/AES? In which case the sample rate change will effect them (because your monitors will be asynchronously re-clocking too.) That would be expected unless your monitors have a function to automute when reclocking.

Mine are connected via analogue, for reference.

jgaz 02-20-2019 04:27 PM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Good call, ours are being fed by a madi D->A and then analog from that device to the monitors. I'm used to digital converters muting their outputs when they lose clock. I'll see if there's a setting on them to get them to mute instead of pop.

Thanks!

-Jeff

Quote:

Originally Posted by BScout (Post 2517266)
I do not have this issue, if that helps for comparison.

All digital will pop when changing sample rates but cutting the monitors doesn't pass the pop to to the speakers. Cut is a complete mute.

However, I'm curious what your monitors are. Are they hooked by digital/AES? In which case the sample rate change will effect them (because your monitors will be asynchronously re-clocking too.) That would be expected unless your monitors have a function to automute when reclocking.

Mine are connected via analogue, for reference.


jgaz 02-21-2019 09:23 AM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Just in case anyone else runs into this issue, we have a DirectOut Technologies Andiamo MADI da/ad. Changing it to clock off of the wordclock input rather than MADI fixed the issue, no more popping of the monitors when switching sample rates!

creativecontrol 02-21-2019 10:00 AM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Thanks for the update!


best,


Jeff

jgaz 03-20-2019 10:52 AM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jgaz (Post 2517349)
Just in case anyone else runs into this issue, we have a DirectOut Technologies Andiamo MADI da/ad. Changing it to clock off of the wordclock input rather than MADI fixed the issue, no more popping of the monitors when switching sample rates!

Actually, further update, I only thought that fixed the issue but found out that it didn't. It wasn't until recently that I've had a chance to dig into this issue further and I've been both in contact with Avid and Directout Technologies.

In the end, I'm advising everyone I know to stay away from the DirectOut Technologies Andiamo Madi DA/AD. There's no workaround other than powering off monitor speakers before changing samplerate or simply replacing these units with another brand that won't pop their outputs when changing samplerate.

-Jeff

BScout 03-20-2019 12:57 PM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
You haven't specified what speakers you are using, but other than the annoyance of the pop, those pops should do no damage to your speakers. You can check with the speaker manufacturer, but those re-clocking pops aren't DIRAC spikes or full scale signal and speakers can handle those easily without damage.

I honestly don't know a standalone DA converter that mutes when reclocking. The only ones that handle that easily tend to be ones that SRC any input (so they aren't actually reclocking but just resampling the digital signal on the way to the speakers.) I know a few makers who have that.

Rich Breen 04-16-2019 07:32 AM

Re: changing sample rate or clock source on MTRX popping monitors
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BScout (Post 2519668)
...I honestly don't know a standalone DA converter that mutes when reclocking....


Which doesn't mean it's not a good idea... ;-)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com