Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=131)
-   -   Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=383847)

aside 09-01-2016 05:10 AM

Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hey guys,

Ok so this one is driving me crazy. I have a very simple setup, Pro Tools 12.5.2 running on a Windows 10 HP i7 laptop with a brand new AVID branded Quartet.

Done all the optimisations and have ensured Windows is using the onboard sound device, leaving the Quartet exclusively for Pro Tools.

Every few minutes I get the attached error message about the external clock source not operating correctly.

Any ideas? Short of a bad Quartet unit I'm stumped.

Any help much appreciated, cheers.

Southsidemusic 09-01-2016 09:32 AM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
Hi and Welcome to the Community

Have you tried trashing preferences and databases as thats what i would do first to see if anything old is interfering with the setup.

http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/...s-preferences/

Let us know what happens if anything :o

TVPostSound 09-01-2016 03:43 PM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by aside (Post 2378663)
Hey guys,

Ok so this one is driving me crazy. I have a very simple setup, Pro Tools 12.5.2 running on a Windows 10 HP i7 laptop with a brand new AVID branded Quartet.

Done all the optimisations and have ensured Windows is using the onboard sound device, leaving the Quartet exclusively for Pro Tools.

Every few minutes I get the attached error message about the external clock source not operating correctly.

Any ideas? Short of a bad Quartet unit I'm stumped.

Any help much appreciated, cheers.


First question:

Is the clock source, set to "Quartet" in Set up: Session??


Second question:

Is the sample rate set in "Maestro 2" or whatever the Avid branded setup utility is called the same as your PT session??

aside 09-01-2016 08:48 PM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
Thanks for the feedback.

Yep the setup is all fine, matching sample rates, Quartet selected in Pro Tools etc.

In a bid to randomly try stuff I disabled AVG antivirus and haven't had the error in a hour or two... weird. I'll report back!

aside 09-02-2016 04:02 AM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
ok - after disabling a few things, the error is much less frequent but still there. It seems like it's a processor thing, when too much is going on the clock error appears. Misleading, but life would be boring otherwise right :confused:

TVPostSound 09-02-2016 04:08 PM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
Heres an shot in the dark:

I have an HP laptop, it has both USB2 and USB3 ports.
I was having a communication issue with a cable used to interface with my car's ECU (ala Fast and Furious). The manufacturer told me to try it on a USB2, not USB3 port, and it solved the issue.

Look up in your manual, see which port is USB2, and verify, you're not on a USB3. Worth looking into.

Hope it helps


Otherwise, go here:
http://www.apogeedigital.com/support/contact-support
They answer in under 48 hours.

aside 09-09-2016 06:47 AM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
Tried the USB thing, same - but thanks. Looks like it's a CPU overload thing, clock drops when the machine is working a little harder. Bummer :mad:

TVPostSound 09-10-2016 10:19 AM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
Have you returned to your vendor, and tested another unit?

aside 09-10-2016 04:05 PM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
No I should do, but I contacted Apogee direct and they confirmed that error happens when the machine is working too hard. Still think I'll follow it up though. Thanks again!

TVPostSound 09-11-2016 12:31 PM

Re: Quartet "External Clock Source" error on PC
 
My second system, 12.5.2 on a Mac Mini "Ivy Bridge" 2.6 GHz Intel "Core i7" (3720QM) Quad core, with the Apogee
branded Quartet.

Not one issue.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com