Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Storage Subsystems (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=394692)

Rockman413 10-27-2017 05:03 AM

If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
Hi there,
Just wondering if I use a crap/old/ may have hit/ may have bad clusters/may have bad blocks hard drive to copy pro tools session/ audio files to another computer, will the receiver got affected/damaged audio files?

Is it as long as we can read/copy out from the crapped hard drive, then it's fine?
I have used an USB stick to copy audio files and I occasionally found 1 audio file got affected/damaged, half of that audio file turns into white noise... Not sure if it's the same with hard drive

Horns-Up 10-27-2017 05:24 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
If the disk is old but fully functional, then go for it...
BUT
If you know that the disk may have bad sectors, do yourself a favor and throw it away. Disks are so cheap these days that it's not worth it to have your data (any data) corrupted.
You can get a 2 TB disk for about $60 on Amazon... put it in some USB enclosure and there you have your disk to transfer your sessions from one location to another.

Rockman413 10-27-2017 05:50 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Horns-Up (Post 2456453)
If the disk is old but fully functional, then go for it...
BUT
If you know that the disk may have bad sectors, do yourself a favor and throw it away. Disks are so cheap these days that it's not worth it to have your data (any data) corrupted.
You can get a 2 TB disk for about $60 on Amazon... put it in some USB enclosure and there you have your disk to transfer your sessions from one location to another.

How about SSD? Would a old/may have hit SSD cause any corruption?

Rockman413 10-27-2017 05:55 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Horns-Up (Post 2456453)
If the disk is old but fully functional, then go for it...
BUT
If you know that the disk may have bad sectors, do yourself a favor and throw it away. Disks are so cheap these days that it's not worth it to have your data (any data) corrupted.
You can get a 2 TB disk for about $60 on Amazon... put it in some USB enclosure and there you have your disk to transfer your sessions from one location to another.

What's the best HD check soft? So maybe we can check if we suspect a HD

Horns-Up 10-27-2017 06:23 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rockman413 (Post 2456458)
How about SSD? Would a old/may have hit SSD cause any corruption?

I got my first SSD back in 2008-2009 and it is still working perfectly fine.
I've been using it for different purpose over the years and it's quite possible that is has some bad sectors...(never checked it)

SSDs work a bit different than regular HDDs...
SSD can totally tolerate bad sectors because the firmware of the SSD keeps track of all bad sectors and will never write any data to those sectors.

If you are on windows you can use chkdsk or Disk Utility on Mac.

Rockman413 10-27-2017 07:22 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Horns-Up (Post 2456466)
I got my first SSD back in 2008-2009 and it is still working perfectly fine.
I've been using it for different purpose over the years and it's quite possible that is has some bad sectors...(never checked it)

SSDs work a bit different than regular HDDs...
SSD can totally tolerate bad sectors because the firmware of the SSD keeps track of all bad sectors and will never write any data to those sectors.

If you are on windows you can use chkdsk or Disk Utility on Mac.

meaning, if it has been written already, then a already-written sector turns bad, it will not be readable? Or it will still be readable, but you're going to get incomplete info/ corrupted audio?

JoelG 10-27-2017 07:32 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
Short answer, do yourself a favour and don't use a drive that has known bad sectors.

You can use a program to check the SMART attributes of a drive: https://www.passmark.com/products/diskcheckup.htm or run a full scandisk.

Joel

Rockman413 10-27-2017 08:42 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JoelG (Post 2456479)
Short answer, do yourself a favour and don't use a drive that has known bad sectors.

You can use a program to check the SMART attributes of a drive: https://www.passmark.com/products/diskcheckup.htm or run a full scandisk.

Joel

Is there a mac soft to check this?

john1192 10-27-2017 09:02 AM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
here is a search for what you need .. Apple Disk Utility is one and then below that are others ...

https://www.google.com/search?client...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Rockman413 10-27-2017 09:20 PM

Re: If I use a crap HD to copy audio files, would it cause any problems?
 
I'm not asking how HDD or SSD manages sectors.

My questions are:
1. If an HDD/SSD have bad sectors, I use it to transfer files to my other computer, will my other computer get any corrupted files?
Or
As long as my other computer can read/copy the files without any errors, then I can fully trust all copied files are non-corrupted ?

2. If I write files to a good HDD/SSD, and later it got hit the ground/got damaged and may have new or even a lot of bad sectors- meaning my previously written files are now on bad sectors. So I copy them out to my other computer, am I going to get corrupted files? or as long as I can copy them out without any error, all files are exactly the same as the original fils?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com