Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=396250)

PT user 01-10-2018 03:01 AM

Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
About 10 days ago I dipped my toe in Version 3 of Video Slave after trying V1 some time ago. I decided to explore after getting fed up with my video based PT sessions constantly falling over despite following all the transcoding rules Avid suggest.

My workflow has improved dramatically down to the fact that Im not using Avids Video Engine. Version 3 (pro) is locked to Video ref on my Blackmagic card. I exported a movie from VS3 with timecode burned in via the app and then re-imported it so I could compare live and burnt timecodes - Both were perfectly frame locked with Tools.

No Video crashes in a week. Tools still gave me some -9173 errors as the track count grew though and a few Eucon issues during this weeks session -but those are PT only problems. The workaround for looping works to a certain extent, however for Fx placement I generally just run it rather than loop so Im not too bothered by that. I don't do ADR and am not sure I would be so impressed with this issue if that was a big part of my work, however I'm impressed regardless and have purchased it as a result.

I find it hard to believe that the developers of the great Media Composer cannot seem to get a stable Video engine running in Pro Tools

Now if I could just stop the -9173 errors in tools, I would be a happy bunny....

philper 01-10-2018 09:08 PM

Re: Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
Video Slave rocks.

dr sound 01-12-2018 09:57 AM

Re: Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
Do they have a purchase option for those who want to buy it outright?
I know they used to but I didn't see it on their website, only the monthly subscription.

tom_lowe 01-12-2018 10:19 AM

Re: Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dr sound (Post 2468664)
Do they have a purchase option for those who want to buy it outright?
I know they used to but I didn't see it on their website, only the monthly subscription.

Yeah. At the top of the purchasing section is a button that says "Perpetual".

dr sound 01-12-2018 07:52 PM

Re: Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
Tom,
Thanks. I was on my phone so it was a little difficult to find but on my computer no problem.

tom_lowe 01-15-2018 08:09 AM

Re: Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dr sound (Post 2468791)
Tom,
Thanks. I was on my phone so it was a little difficult to find but on my computer no problem.

No worries. What persuaded you to give it a try? I've been using it for over a year now and love it.

FWIW, a subscription could possibly work out cheaper, depending if you buy all the updates.

Flo is a great guy, if you have any questions he responds really quickly on Facebook most of the time.

dr sound 01-15-2018 01:58 PM

Re: Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tom_lowe (Post 2469134)
No worries. What persuaded you to give it a try? I've been using it for over a year now and love it.

FWIW, a subscription could possibly work out cheaper, depending if you buy all the updates.

Flo is a great guy, if you have any questions he responds really quickly on Facebook most of the time.

Tom,
I just wanted to get a price update.
I'm using PT 12.8.3 and I have ZERO Video Engine errors.
It's working great with my Kona 4 card. I would probably get
Video Slave 3 for it's ability to play H-264 video and it's ADR
capabilities in the future but right now my system is rocking!

tom_lowe 01-16-2018 10:57 AM

Re: Non Lethal Video Slave 3 user experience
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dr sound (Post 2469189)
Tom,
I just wanted to get a price update.
I'm using PT 12.8.3 and I have ZERO Video Engine errors.
It's working great with my Kona 4 card. I would probably get
Video Slave 3 for it's ability to play H-264 video and it's ADR
capabilities in the future but right now my system is rocking!

Lucky you!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com