Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 10 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=91)
-   -   Daisy Chaining and Thunderbolt (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=315416)

Guitarman002 01-11-2012 07:52 PM

Daisy Chaining and Thunderbolt
 
So...I was wondering how a daisy chain with a MacBook Pro (or air) with Thunderbolt, a Lacie Thunderbolt drive and and MBox Pro (latest version) which does not have a Thunderbolt port work together. Isn't the bulk of the speed needed between the laptop and the external hard drive? Would the firewire connection even be possible with the two Thunderbolt components and the MBox Pro? Lastly, what would be the best way to configure this setup?

nst7 01-11-2012 08:14 PM

Re: Daisy Chaining and Thunderbolt
 
The Mbox Pro would still need to plug into a firewire port. If you get the Macbook Pro, that's easy. You plug the Mbox Pro into the firewire 800 port, using an 800 to 400 adapter cable. Then you plug the Thunderbolt drive into the Thunderbolt port.

If it's a Macbook Air, which doesn't have a firewire port, you would need a Thunderbolt hub that includes a firewire port. The Apple 27 will work this way, and there are a few Thunderbolt hubs that were just announced, that will be available in the coming months. In that case, you would plug everything into the hub, and there's plenty of bandwidth for all of it.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com