Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   DSPs responsible for conversion? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407350)

timothys_monster 11-28-2019 03:48 PM

DSPs responsible for conversion?

Hi there,

I am new at using Avid products. At the studio I am now working, we are using a Pro Tools HD system. So basically a Digidesign 192 with a Core card and an Accel card.

Now, the DSPs on the cards can be used for audio signal flow and for processing certain supported effects if I understand correctly.

My question is: Are they also in any way responsible for the AD/DA conversion (and thus for the sound quality) or is this all done by the hardware unit 192?

Thanks and sorry if it had been discussed before, I wasn't able to find an answer.

the19thbear 11-28-2019 04:23 PM

Re: DSPs responsible for conversion?

Conversion is done by the 192. Dsp’s are just expensive pocket calculators. No adda in the dsp. Only signal processing. :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

timothys_monster 11-28-2019 04:29 PM

Thanks for clearing things up, 19thbear!

That's what I was assuming. So the 192's DSPs are kind of outdated in comparison to modern CPUs, I guess?

Could I run all channels of the 192 at 192 kHz with only the Core card then?

LukeHoward 11-28-2019 05:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by timothys_monster (Post 2545962)
Thanks for clearing things up, 19thbear!

That's what I was assuming. So the 192's DSPs are kind of outdated in comparison to modern CPUs, I guess?

Could I run all channels of the 192 at 192 kHz with only the Core card then?

I/O counts can be found below, yes it should be possible.

https://www.avid.com/products/pro-to...specifications

Southsidemusic 11-28-2019 11:04 PM