Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   oo1 on tour (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=34389)

lespaul 10-20-1999 02:49 PM

oo1 on tour
 
good info:

After seeing the 001 on tour -

looks great, all inclusive. if starting from scratch, this is a great system and you probably won't need logic....if you already use logic, i understad that emagic will be supporting the 001.

from the look of the system and its feature set, you would be best suited using it by itself as a stand alone, studio in a box. if you are just doing music (not synching to video/external tape decks) in the MAC, it will be a great, cost effective home studio solution...which I think is what DIGI had in mind.

This is not the gear to buy to try to integrate into a full blown, intricately designed setup, with too many different pieces talking to each other.

Think of it as the DIGI/Pro Tools MAC User interface version of a Roland VS1680 - you buy it for what it is and use it for that...when you are ready for more, you upgrade to TDM, add mic pre's, midi interfaces, etc.!!

eam 10-22-1999 05:22 PM

Re: oo1 on tour
 
This is a question for lespaul, you mentioned that 001 is basically a vs1680. I have a 1680 and want to upgrade to be able to do editing via computor fly in samples etc. should I go for a more of a upgrade than the 001. I'm starting from scratch and will also be getting a Mac G3 vrs the PC I now have for a sequencer. I just don't want to throw money at something and then be outgrowing it having to upgrade again.

lespaul 10-25-1999 11:16 AM

Re: oo1 on tour
 
The 001 MAY be a good way to get your 1680 tracks into the mac to edit, but is probably VERY repetitive, why not just record into the 001 in the first place?

What I would look for is:

1- a way to synch the two, for added track count/effects (if you have the effects that go in the 1680), etc. but it's kind of like having two home studios!

If you are looking for something to build upon rather than replace every year or two, consider that the 001 is upgradeable to TDM - by replacing the actual hardware!

2 -I am not familiar enough with the 1680's digital connections, but you should look for a way to dump 1680 tracks into the mac- any of the major software programs out there now will probably do the job for editing, but most important is the card that will take the 1680 tracks and put them in the computer. Is the 001 hardware the way to do this? (it would be kind of cool to get all 16 tracks in at once, and lined up properly!)

Again, it may be equally valuable to just use the 001 all along, from the beginning (maybe keep the 1680 for portability and bringing tracks home to edit in pro tools le)



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com