Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2019 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=408423)

dg27 02-10-2020 04:26 PM

Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
I've been holding on to Window 7 for as long as I could (which is why I'm still on PT 12.8.3).

Next week I plan to take the plunge and move to Win 10 Pro. After that I'll install PT 2019.12.

Should I anticipate any compatibility issues with sessions created in 12.8.3?

musicman691 02-11-2020 05:17 AM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dg27 (Post 2553718)
I've been holding on to Window 7 for as long as I could (which is why I'm still on PT 12.8.3).

Next week I plan to take the plunge and move to Win 10 Pro. After that I'll install PT 2019.12.

Should I anticipate any compatibility issues with sessions created in 12.8.3?

Other than possibly missing plugins there shouldn't be issues. Make absolutely sure you have a backup of your working system BEFORE going to Windoze 10. And disconnect that backup drive so it doesn't possibly get corrupted during the W10 install.

dg27 02-11-2020 06:50 AM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2553764)
Other than possibly missing plugins there shouldn't be issues.

I have installation files for all 3rd-party plugins, all very orderly in folders with license keys if applicable.

Regarding Avid-provided plugins, are there plugins that were provided in PT 12 that are not provided in the 2019 versions?


Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2553764)
Make absolutely sure you have a backup of your working system BEFORE going to Windoze 10.

I run Acronis 3X per week on different internal and external drives, so I'm covered there.

Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2553764)
And disconnect that backup drive so it doesn't possibly get corrupted during the W10 install.

Wouldn't have though of that--thanks. I've actually read that you should disconnect all other drives when installing W10.

EGS 02-11-2020 07:30 AM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dg27 (Post 2553772)
I have installation files for all 3rd-party plugins...

I suggest NOT installing those, but rather be sure to install the latest/greatest versions of all plugs. Typically, just go to each company's site and DL the latest versions. The latest AVID plugs are also available to DL. A few months ago I updated Win 7 to 10, got the current PTools, and all current plug versions ---> works!!!

JFreak 02-11-2020 07:32 AM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
It should be a no-brainer to download fresh plugin installers

dg27 02-11-2020 08:06 AM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
Thanks for the plugin suggestions.

I've got a lot of downloading to do...:o

enfamale 02-11-2020 07:56 PM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
I made the move from 7 to 10 and had a smooth transition so far and didn't lose anything. Im still using 12.5 right now thinking of going to 2019 but don't know about my older 12.5 sessions playing in 2019.

dg27 02-11-2020 08:05 PM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by enfamale (Post 2553863)
I made the move from 7 to 10 and had a smooth transition so far and didn't lose anything. Im still using 12.5 right now thinking of going to 2019 but don't know about my older 12.5 sessions playing in 2019.

Hmmm..I wonder whether I should go from 7 to 10 with 12.8.3 then move to 2019.12 later.

Downside to that is I'd have to reinstall all the plugins all over again.

Was really hoping to do it in one fell swoop.

JFreak 02-12-2020 05:25 AM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
Nothing to worry about. The older .ptf session format opens just fine in PT10 and later, and .ptx format introduced in 10.0.0 is still current. Going for a newer version is not a problem.

kw88keys 02-12-2020 06:12 AM

Re: Moving from 12.8.3 to 2019.12
 
I did the same as you - updated to W10 and from 12.4 to 2019.12.
The only glitch was Windows 10 populated my bios with a floppy drive.
That caused a 6 second delay in record and playback-after-record. Once I went into bios and removed (not disabled) the floppy all went well.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com