Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   ICON & C|24 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Penny and Giles for D-Command (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=355617)

Cawbaby 06-18-2014 11:18 AM

Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
Does anybody know if the Penny and Giles faders used on the D-Control work on the D-Command? The D-Command was designed with Alps faders but the D-Control uses Penny and Giles faders and they're suppose to be a bit better.
thx

Craig F 06-18-2014 02:14 PM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
no, they're Alps and the carbon replacements kill the original conductive plastic

Cawbaby 06-19-2014 06:07 AM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
I know they're Alps but do the Penny and Giles faders from the D-Control work in the D-Command. I have the carbon replacement faders. They suck! I've had problems from day 1. I luv the board, it's just these faders. I've tried everything ever posted about non responsive faders. Nothing, NOTHING has worked.

Emcha_audio 06-22-2014 02:49 PM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
Have you ever got your unit check, it may be that there's an actual mechanical problem with your D-Command

Cawbaby 07-02-2014 06:23 PM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
Yes. The fader problems are intermittent. After cycling some of them work fine for a few hours then revert right back to not responding. Never do all of them work at the same time. When I pull them apart and clean them, which takes a couple of hours, most will improve for a day or two. Then they will stop responding again. I'm convinced the Alps faders just plain suck. I'm very meticulous and keep the studio fairly dust free. I cover the board EVERY night. I'm looking for a replacement fader that isn't 200.00 a shot.

Craig F 07-02-2014 06:33 PM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
It's more than just the fader, the firmware has to be programed for it, that's why you can't mix the original plastic and the updated carbon faders in the same module. Any other fader is not in the firmware.

Given that all the Venue and all D-Coms I know that have switched to the carbon Alps aren't having this problem points to a problem in you location.
how is your power and ground

Cawbaby 07-03-2014 05:24 AM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
I've never had any problem with my power. What, in your question, constitutes "good power"? I've grounded the icon and even the fader packs to earth. Earth being my incoming water pipe on the village side of the water meter.
thx for your help Craig.

StefB 03-09-2015 03:08 AM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
Dr. Caw

Did you ever mangae to try the P&G faders out?

Does anyone have the P&G fader model numbers?

I am about to get an S6 - but I need to fix my D-Command 24 as well...

Cheers
stef

Cawbaby 05-23-2015 08:03 AM

I had fighting faders for years with my Icon. Nothing would fix the problem. Tried earth ground, carefully cleaned over and over again even though they didn't even appear to be at all dirty, cycled, basically tried everything posted about the issue. Anywhere from 2 to 7 faders were always unresponsive to touch.
Finally had a tech friend out who figured out how to fix it.
He can be contacted directly at loudep@core.com or call him (Lou DePasqua) at Innovative Technologies Corporation 847-877-1739. He's been doing music equipment repairs product designing in the Chicago area for 30 years. He's a good reasonable guy not out to rip anyone off.
He can provide you with a quote based upon the number of faders you want modified. You can send your faders in directly to him and he will turn them around quickly.
I haven't had one problem with faders since!

Jeezer 04-26-2018 05:31 PM

Re: Penny and Giles for D-Command
 
I've had zero issues with my D-Command, and it actually has mixed carbon/original faders and they are still working fine.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com