Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Third Party Interfaces (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=362556)

adam79 12-31-2014 03:48 AM

Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

I was checking out the Apogee Quartet. This unit gets awesome reviews. It doesn't have the UA plugin abilities, but it does have 4 mic pres which is more important to me. Plus I think I might be able to swing the price tag, just barely. Too bad I don't have an extra $600 or I'd be able to get the Apollo w/ the 4 mic pres, but I just don't have the extra money. Any comparisons on the quality of these two units would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Adam

VRW 12-31-2014 07:46 AM

Re: Apogee Quartet vs UA Apollo Twin

I have been using a Quartet for about 2 years, had an 003R prior to it and did an extensive research
back in the days which one to get for a replacement.

There were some guys, engineers and producers who even have had a bunch of chart success with their
work and were quite knowledgeable, I was talking to at this time and asking the exact question.
Although they were using the Apollo themselves they told me as to pure audio quality the Quartet would
beat even much more expensive gear including the Apollo.

This was what I thought to have heard myself too when comparing a lot of interfaces including Quartet and
Apollo. They confirmed it without knowing about my personal experience.

As I didnīt need more than 4 mic pres and more the Quartet could offer, I went with the Quartet and was
impressed by itīs A/D D/A as well as by the good quality of itīs 4 mic pres.
I am still absolutely happy with it and would recommend it to everyone looking for exceptional audio quality
for a quite affordable amount of money.

Of course, the Apollo offers a lot more features, I/Os and would be much more versatile however if one would not