Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   ilok via a usb hub ? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=395321)

uptheoctave 12-02-2017 04:56 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
I've used a D-Link USB 2 hub for the last 10 years without issues.

It is bus powered and works with Waves USB key, iLok, Steinberg key all without issue and all at once.

musicman691 12-02-2017 04:59 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek (Post 2462253)
iLok cloud licenses will make this a thing of the past. Well, at least they'll be different hassles! :)

I wouldn't trust the cloud to anything. Also what if you're someplace that has no or spotty internet access?

What would be a good thing is they way Steinberg has both the hardware dongle and the s/w version. That way you could use either as suits your working style. The only problem with the Steiny way is some of the developers that use the system mandate the use of the h/w dongle and don't allow the s/w version. We already have some developers that use the iLok framework but don't mandate the use of the actual iLok dongle.

Drew Mazurek 12-02-2017 05:02 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2462257)
I wouldn't trust the cloud to anything. Also what if you're someplace that has no or spotty internet access?

What would be a good thing is they way Steinberg has both the hardware dongle and the s/w version. That way you could use either as suits your working style. The only problem with the Steiny way is some of the developers that use the system mandate the use of the h/w dongle and don't allow the s/w version. We already have some developers that use the iLok framework but don't mandate the use of the actual iLok dongle.

Like I said, different hassles.

musicman691 12-02-2017 05:02 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by octatonic (Post 2462256)
I've used a D-Link USB 2 hub for the last 10 years without issues.

It is bus powered and works with Waves USB key, iLok, Steinberg key all without issue and all at once.

Waves USB key? Do you mean a flash drive?

musicman691 12-02-2017 05:05 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Something came to me just now looking at my setup. I use the Apple wired long keyboard with numpad and they have 2 USB ports - why not use that for the iLok if you use that particular keyboard? Doesn't help Windows users but for Mac people it could help.

panamajack 12-02-2017 06:44 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt Darcy (Post 2461428)
. . . Have any of you got the mac working with a usb hub and the ilok plugged in to it? . . .

I plug my iLok into hubs daisy-chained from first tier hubs. On the old-style 2015 MBP with USB3 ports, I go from the laptop to an external drive with a built-in USB3 hub. From that I daisy-chain to both a Kanex powered USB3 hub and a Phillips 288P6 4K monitor with another 4 USB ports: it has two USB2 ports and two USB3 ports, one of those is fast-charging.

On the 2016 MBP I have two CalDigit docks, a USB-C and a TS3 lite. And I plug additional hubs into those. The USB-C hub can charge the 2016 MBP with 60w, which opens up a TB3 port (under heavy usage, the Apple charger provides 87w). But if I plug an unpowered USB3 hub in the CalDigit (such as the TRENDnet USB-C 4-port Ultra-Mini), the charge drops to 30w (enough for a trickle charge for the MBP).

I connect trackball, external keyboard, Shuttle Contour, iLOK, 11R, Apogee Element controller, external spinner hard drive, external SSD drive, DVD drive, Waves USB license card, and a MIDI hub. That adds up to 11 USB ports. But I do not always need everything simultaneously. The Mac Towers have five USB 2.0 ports. The Sonnet Allegro USC-C PCIe card is a nice upgrade. They bring performance up to date for USB 3.1 Gen 2: 10Gbps, and they also deliver 15w power per port (USB 3.0 provides 4.5w) for bus-powered devices. Auto-negotiates a one lane data link in a PCIe 3.0 slot (PC) or two lanes in a PCIe 2.0 slot (Mac Pro tower). Sonnet reports this card is NOT compatible with El Capitan 10.11, but is compatible with 10.10.5, 10.12.6 and High Sierra.

The Mac OS reports the additional power available when the wall wart is added to a hub configured for a power adapter.

FYI, the CalDigit USB-C dock supports the Apple SuperDrive and the external keyboard (there was a Firmware update in February 2017).

64GTOBOY 12-02-2017 10:51 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
I keep my I-Lok and my Waves license license thumb drive on an unpowered 4 port hub that goes with me along with and files I may need on another thumb or two. No problems with plugging in to either 2.0 or 3.0 yet but I'm on Windows.

Wire57 12-03-2017 04:51 AM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Well, I do not seem to have any issue with my iLok in a USB(2.0) hub and running ProTools.
As my next question, I'll have to find out if I really need my Mbox2 Micro with my PT.
(NEW: Windows 10 home, Creators Fall update [Version 1709, SysBuild 16299.64, 64bit], 16 GB RAM [1600 KHz]
C:\ = SSD 500 GB, D:\HDD 1 TB @ 7200 rpm, Intel I5 quadcore...
PT12.8.2, Mbox2 Micro
[And Sibelius 8.7.2])

VRW 12-03-2017 03:39 PM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt Darcy (Post 2461428)
I'd like to have my ilok plugged into a USB hub plugged into my mac.
However everytime I open pro-tools 12 with my ilok plugged into a usb hub the license fails to be detected and I have to plug the ilok into the mac directly, this wastes a port on the new macs with only 2 usb ports.

Have any of you got the mac working with a usb hub and the ilok plugged in to it ? what hub did you use ? did you make any software changes to get it detected ?

thanks.

Have struggled a lot with this issue the last few months and did not have any luck using the iLok on
1) a good quality powered USB 3 hub
2) an unpowered USB 2 hub

Finally found only two ways to get that son-of-a-b... of an iLok to work as it is supposed to, which were
1) on a powered USB 2 hub
2) on the built in USB 2 hub of the Apple (Numeric Keypad) Keyboard

At the moment I´m using version 1 which means I have plugged a powered USB 2 hub into my powered
USB 3 hub. On this powered USB 2 hub I have the iLok, my Apple (Numeric Keypad) Keyboard and another
USB 2 flash drive with all my Waves, PA and HOFA licenses on. All other USB gear I have connected to the
powered 7-port USB 3 hub which is directly connected to the (USB 3) port of my MBP. So this finally works.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wire57 (Post 2462375)
Well, I do not seem to have any issue with my iLok in a USB(2.0) hub and running ProTools.
As my next question, I'll have to find out if I really need my Mbox2 Micro with my PT.
(NEW: Windows 10 home, Creators Fall update [Version 1709, SysBuild 16299.64, 64bit], 16 GB RAM [1600 KHz]
C:\ = SSD 500 GB, D:\HDD 1 TB @ 7200 rpm, Intel I5 quadcore...
PT12.8.2, Mbox2 Micro
[And Sibelius 8.7.2])

Actually the Mbox 2 Micro is not supported with Windows 10/PT12 anymore. Check it out there.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-Micro-Drivers

You might get another compatible, more current audio interface or use the the internal engine of your
computer with the Asio4all driver. However the Asio4all driver will work for mixing and editing only
probably. If it comes to recording you rather will need an external audio interface because of latency
issues with the internal engine/Asio4all system (besides the lack of decent Audio In/Outs).

As being on PC/Windows obviously you might look into RME audio interfaces which are still the best
working, most stable ones for Win/PC systems.

The best of success to both of you.

Cheers.

Eric Seaberg 12-04-2017 07:40 PM

Re: ilok via a usb hub ?
 
I have a Thunderbolt Dock on my iMac which adds 5-USB3 ports with 2 of the 5 being powered. My iLok2 is plugged into that without any issues whatsoever. I also have a powered USB3 hub plugged into the Thunderbolt Dock and iLok2 works on it, as well.

The Thunderbolt port I have is here:
https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/TB2DOCK12T1/

Great pricing, also adds HDMI out and analog audio I/O.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:17 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com