Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Markers/ Streamers / Punches (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=406060)

RayCervenka 08-23-2019 03:14 AM

Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
For generating a conductors-video, is there any third-party software that will overlay a QT movie as in Digital Performer? The basics – markers/ streamers / punches / bar/beat-numbering; simple text (1m1 etc). Importing 45 cues into DP and then back to a PT from an aaf is quite a chore.

Many thanks in advance!
-R

Frank Kruse 08-23-2019 03:42 AM

Re: Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
Streamers works great and is free:

https://figure53.com/studio/

RayCervenka 08-24-2019 01:03 AM

Re: Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
Thank you Frank. Have you tried bouncing the overlays to QuickTime? Since the sessions will be at a large scoring-studio, I preferred to keep it self contained. Going through the documentation and haven't found if this is supported.
Best Regards,
-R

Frank Kruse 08-26-2019 06:12 AM

Re: Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
Hm, I don't know because I've never used it that way. I need to keep things live as often things change during the session (I've used it for on-location group ADR).

But it's very reliable once it's set up. It never felt like I should have rendered it all out. But the guys who make it are helpful. I'm sure they can tell you if it can render it out.

Frank.

BScout 08-26-2019 09:18 AM

Re: Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RayCervenka (Post 2536201)
Thank you Frank. Have you tried bouncing the overlays to QuickTime? Since the sessions will be at a large scoring-studio, I preferred to keep it self contained. Going through the documentation and haven't found if this is supported.
Best Regards,
-R

I have never rendered streamers for scoring (and I don't know anyone who has.)

There's a reason an Auricle operator used to be on the scoring stage (and that was the standard and were never rendered.) Things change during tracking.
This would be a bad idea to render.

Also, have used DP for streamers. Didn't import/export to Pro Tools. Just ran picture out of DP and had it slaved to the PT rig via MTC/MMC. I had this setup arranged at both AIR studio and Abbey Road.

Rich Breen 08-27-2019 07:51 AM

Re: Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
Yeah, never seen anyone come in to a stage with rendered streamers. Usually just midi events in the PT session - seems to work fine. A good PT op can make those streamer / punch changes on the fly quickly.

Ryan Young 08-27-2019 06:21 PM

Re: Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
1 Attachment(s)
I'm amazed to see an update in general. I was under the impression that it was done for completely. So, coincidentally, the latest update allows you to render the streamers and text. Pretty cool!

RayCervenka 08-30-2019 12:34 PM

Re: Markers/ Streamers / Punches
 
Thank you all for your input and expertise. I'm the third-man down from the original score that was recorded without a click, then clicked and now will be re-segmented for a live to TV presentation.I was handed a conductors video that was clicked-out /tempo mapped for the entire hour and a half movie that the client wished to maintain all of those. From what I understand, there are many conductors that still work with punches and streamers and this score is of that vintage.Many thanks!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com