Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | First Discussion (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=138)
-   -   Cannot Create New Project (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404798)

PatJo 05-19-2019 12:09 AM

Cannot Create New Project
 
Hi,

I had 3 projects in my Avid cloud and in order to create another one I deleted one. However, when I try to create a new one it says I canít because I already have the maximum created? When I log into the website it tells me I have 3/3 projects but Protools only sees 2. How do I fix this?

Iíve tried logging in/out of both protools and the web and restarting but it doesnít make a difference. Iím using 2019.5 as of yesterday. I was using 2018.7 before. This in Win10.

Cheers, Pat


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PatJo 05-19-2019 12:26 AM

Re: Cannot Create New Project
 
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...78cc8620f2.jpg

This is where itís telling me I have 3/3 projects. I donít. I deleted 1. I can only see 2 when I start PT. How do I fix this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PatJo 05-19-2019 04:03 AM

Re: Cannot Create New Project
 
3 Attachment(s)
Here's some images that highlight the problem.

PatJo 05-23-2019 11:31 PM

Re: Cannot Create New Project
 
Is there anyone who can shed any light on this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PatJo 05-25-2019 12:53 AM

Re: Cannot Create New Project
 
Is there anyone from Avid who can comment on this? Iím not the only one whoís had this problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PatJo 05-25-2019 01:13 AM

Re: My projects are gone
 
I have a problem with Avid cloud and I opened a case. Avid promptly closed it saying I wasn’t entitled to support as I only have PTF and directed me here. This is incredibly poor from Avids point of view as I don’t see how fellow PT users can sort out the Avid cloud mess. I keep bumping the threads about my issue in a vain attempt to get attention. I’m new to PT and from what I see it’s really good but I really question the support.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Darryl Ramm 05-25-2019 01:24 AM

Re: My projects are gone
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PatJo (Post 2527121)
I have a problem with Avid cloud and I opened a case. Avid promptly closed it saying I wasn’t entitled to support as I only have PTF and directed me here. This is incredibly poor from Avids point of view as I don’t see how fellow PT users can sort out the Avid cloud mess. I keep bumping the threads about my issue in a vain attempt to get attention. I’m new to PT and from what I see it’s really good but I really question the support.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Unfortunately Avid’s cloud storage appears to be a mess. An extremely poorly implemented mess. I would not trust anything on it. It’s a pity as Avid has made just tremendous improvements recently with their core Pro Tools standard and Pro Tools Ultimate products. Avid is showing you they do not support this freeware at all well. Avid support should be ashamed, they know customers are suffering with this and they are best able to fix those users storage issues.

Spending your time posting all over DUC is sad, if I was in your place I would decide wether I needed Pro Tools compatibility and if so purchase or rent Pro Tools Standard. You can even get a one month free trial of Ultimate (and the sessions you create will work with standard after the trial ends). See https://my.avid.com/get/pro-tools-ultimate-trial. Or just give up and pick another DAW. There are many other fantastic DAWs out there, on Mac I would recommend Logic Pro, or Reaper on Mac or PC, but it depends on what you are doing, composition, vs recording audio, working with midi etc.

Remember sessions=on local disk format, compatible with traditional Pro Tools, projects=flakey cloud stuff.

There is this “local save” change recently, but you don’t want that either IMNSHO ... it’s not really saving local sessions, and does not get you away from the cloud storage mess. https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...ls-first-users

PatJo 05-25-2019 01:32 AM

Re: My projects are gone
 
Iím guessing that Avid cloud is mess for both PT and PTF users do I would be very reluctant to upgrade until I know that it is sorted out for PT.

Not even being able to raise it as an issue even on the understanding that it wonít be fixed for PTF users it a real kick in the nuts from Avid. Iím not the only one with this issue and Iíd like some reassurance that itís at least going to looked at or acknowledged.

Itís incredibly disappointing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Darryl Ramm 05-25-2019 01:46 AM

Re: My projects are gone
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PatJo (Post 2527128)
I’m guessing that Avid cloud is mess for both PT and PTF users do I would be very reluctant to upgrade until I know that it is sorted out for PT.

I worry you are wasting your time with Avid’s Cloud storage. It is unclear to me if enough people inside or outside of Avid are using this or focused on fixing it. I currently have no expectation it will get fixed, so would not waste my time with this stuff. If you actually want to get work done with Pro Tools now you can use PT standard or Ultimate with local sessions. If you are looking for web based online collaborative audio editing I have a *beautiful* bridge to sell you.

Sorry if that is not what you want to hear, but I am trying to save you pain, even if Avid jumped in and did you a favor and fixed this immediate issue for you, I would not want to then put valuable work back into this system and risk losing it. Your time has to be worth something, and hopefully that helps you justify purchasing Pro Tools standard or another DAW.

jeffro 05-25-2019 01:07 PM

Re: Cannot Create New Project
 
We should absolutely look into any cloud issues, but for now you should be able to carry on by disabling Backup to Cloud in the Dashboard to create local Projects.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com