Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   System 5 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=376482)

niekbeem 01-09-2016 12:52 AM

MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
I own a v1 (silver) MC Pro for about a year now, and I'd like to extend it's possibilities with the on-board video-switching system.

Will the following components work together in order to make the MC Pro switch video sources when switching workstations?

- Keyspan USA 19-HS
- Gefen 4x1 DPKVM

Has anyone got tips or recommendations on this?
Thanks!

Niek/ Amsterdam.

Soundadventures 01-10-2016 09:48 AM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
I think it should work. I saw that the gefen you mentioned has also a serial adapter so this you connect to the keyspan which is connected to your 5-mc usb port. don't forget to install the proper keyspan USA 19-HS drivers on your 5-mc.

for more information look here:

http://connect.euphonix.com/document..._Switching.pdf

niekbeem 01-10-2016 10:51 AM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
Sounds great, thanks for your tips Thomas, much appreciated!

Niek/ Amsterdam.

Soundadventures 01-10-2016 11:17 AM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
You're very welcome!

EddieJones 01-11-2016 09:33 AM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
You need the Ontrak ADU200 USB Relay I/O Interface and the correct Gefen model. See the doc above for info.

niekbeem 01-11-2016 11:44 AM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
Thanks too Eddie,
does this mean my v1 MC Pro only works with the Ontrak and only with the recommended video-switchers?

I read in the Avid document called "MC Installation" http://cdn.avid.com/MCPro_EUCON/2.7....stallation.pdf , on page 7:

"On MC systems with multiple workstations, you can switch display and keyboard control between workstations. The MC uses a Keyspan USB-to-serial adapter to control a KVM (keyboard/video/mouse) switch with a serial connector. This setup will allow relay switching of up to four inputs to a single output on a DVI/KVM switcher (such as the Gefen eX-Tend-It series)".


Now, I'm a bit confused; does only the Ontrak do the job, or the Keyspan as well?
Niek/ Amsterdam.

EddieJones 01-11-2016 07:39 PM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
I'm sorry you are total right, we added the Keyspan to it a while back and the system detects what you have connected (Keyspan or Ontrak) and uses it. V1 and v2 can use either.

niekbeem 01-11-2016 10:36 PM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
Thanks Eddy,
Quite a relief while obtaining an Ontrak here in The Netherlands is not easy.

Niek/ Amsterdam.

niekbeem 01-20-2016 12:08 AM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
Gefen 4-port Displayport-switchers are not available any more unfortunately.
http://www.gefen.com/kvm/ext-dpkvm-4...?prod_id=10026

Does anyone know if the Gefen 2-port Displayport-switchers will work?
http://www.gefen.com/kvm/ext-dpkvm-241.jsp?prod_id=8689

Or the Blackbox AVSW-DP4X1A ? This switcher listens to Ascii codes 1 thru 4 ......
http://www.blackbox.nl/nl-nl/fi/1465...ayPort-Switch/

Thanks!
Niek/ Amsterdam.

EddieJones 01-20-2016 12:00 PM

Re: MC Pro Workstation&Video-switching
 
The Gefen 2 port should work. I'm not sure about the Blackbox.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com