Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   "Pro Tools Does Not Support Energy Saver" (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=56288)

dogen 07-17-2003 05:23 PM

"Pro Tools Does Not Support Energy Saver"
 
Looking over the 6.1 Read Me, I noticed that section heading. It goes on to say "Do not manually put your computer to sleep when running Pro Tools."

The 6.0x versions prevented my G4/400 from going to sleep even when Pro Tools wasn't running. Does 6.1 do the same? Or is the sleep warning only applicable to when Pro Tools is running?

clorox 07-17-2003 09:47 PM

Re: "Pro Tools Does Not Support Energy Saver"
 
I will say this: once, I put my computer to sleep while running pro tools. Subsequently, I got the only hard crash I've seen on my ibook. The screen froze, and was overrun with block-lettered unix errors. I had to reinstall the OS.

birdFEEDER 07-18-2003 08:20 AM

Re: "Pro Tools Does Not Support Energy Saver"
 
It is a known issue that the Digidesign drivers will cripple Mac OS X's ability to SLEEP. There is more detail in the aforementioned thread and at my website where I posted a little application to get your Mac sleeping again. Hope that helps... [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

clorox 07-18-2003 08:22 AM

Re: "Pro Tools Does Not Support Energy Saver"
 
Yeah, and my ibook will sleep just fine with my mbox attached and pro tools running.

Doesn't mean it's a good idea, though.

dogen 07-18-2003 08:30 AM

Re: "Pro Tools Does Not Support Energy Saver"
 
After installing 6.1, the G4/400 will not go to sleep even when Pro Tools is not running.

Thanks to BirdFeeder for the link.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:53 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com