Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Windows (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Pro Tools 2019 on Windows (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=404645)

StillHollow 05-12-2019 04:15 AM

Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
How are you all fairing with 2019.5 on Windows? It seems all posts I’ve seen thus far have been from Mac users.

Just installed myself on Windows 10 Pro and will dive in today before reporting back.

nige108 05-12-2019 04:20 AM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
Continuous playback doesn’t seem to work all the time. Still get audio glitches adding or removing some plugs. If I minimise PT it gets stuck to the taskbar. You have to hover over and right click and choose restore.
To be honest I see no improvement over 2018.7.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

profdraper 05-12-2019 02:37 PM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
Video playback is still hopeless on Windows and has been for quite some time. Sluggish playback on internal video window or BM decklink; always many Video engine has stopped errors, etc. Worked perfectly in PT 11. Still asks for Quicktime install, unbelievable. All that rant about not stopping while playing, yet film does not work as is should and does in other DAWs like Nuendo & without the gobbledgook around Quicktime, codecs etc. Yes, MFX, sure, but still problematic. Other DAWs just load up the .mp4 or whatever & get on with it.

albee1952 05-12-2019 09:22 PM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
2019.5 working here and its got some minor quirks, but having said that, performance is mostly amazing:eek: I'm running sessions at a 64 buffer that never would have run before. Last version(at 64 buffer) would stop and throw an error if I tried to open or instantiate Ozone 8(not a single stop or error since installing. Plus, the System Usage meter shows essentially no change between the 64 buffer and the 1024 buffer(so it seems they have done some serious work on stability):o

Now to the quirks I've had:
1-twice(so far) a session has opened but would not play(close and re-open PT solved it both times)
2-last night, I was working on a session and doing some Elastic Audio edits and the audio LOOKED like I moved it, but sounded like I didn't. I quit for the day and tried again today and it worked fine.
3-twice(so far out of a dozen times) I booted(from everything off) and once Windows opened, Pro Tools opened itself, but without the startup window(but worked fine).

None of these issues is a show-stopper for me, but might be a big deal for others(especially those with clients in the room). Should you try it? I give the same answer I give with any update; absolutely, try it, but have a backup plan!!!!! I cloned my system drive(with PT 2018.10), installed the cloned drive and installed 2019.5 on that. If things go sour, I swap back to the old drive:D

junkgear 05-13-2019 11:30 AM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
It's running well for me on Win 10. Overall playback is smoother and PT itself feels snappier. Plugins seem to load a little faster and rarely glitch playback.

I had one issue where PT wouldn't open just after I installed it, but refreshing my playback settings seemed to do the trick.

sw rec 06-07-2019 07:09 AM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
Just installed it (2019.5 Ultimate) last night to replace 12.4 HD. Everything seems just fine, even though I haven’t yet had the opportunity to give it a good shakedown.

LightWing 06-07-2019 07:13 AM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by StillHollow (Post 2525199)
How are you all fairing with 2019.5 on Windows? It seems all posts I’ve seen thus far have been from Mac users.

Just installed myself on Windows 10 Pro and will dive in today before reporting back.

Runs great.

philgrab 06-07-2019 07:37 AM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
All good on the Western Front (LA). The playback issues I was having were related to a card not seated in the Computer. Once I pushed it in, all good. Overall, I've had no problems on the Windows platform and 2019.5.

albee1952 06-07-2019 08:20 AM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LightWing (Post 2528790)
Runs great.

Less filling!:p:p:p

chrisdee 06-09-2019 10:10 PM

Re: Pro Tools 2019 on Windows
 
At what sample rate are you guys running?
Are you using alot of live/realtime Virtual Instruments?
Live meaning not froozen or bounced.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com