Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Warning:go back to 8.01 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=264148)

Kris75 01-13-2010 03:49 PM

Warning:go back to 8.01
 
Today while I was tracking I was hit with the White Noise blast that seems to be so rampant here. I experienced it one time and raising the buffer from 64 to 128 seemed to solve it. At least for a few weeks. I thought it was buffer related.
Problem with it happening today is that it blasted the drummers earphones:mad:
How did this slip past AVID? Why is it in 8.03? Pro Tools is a recording platform, and with 8.03 it is completely useless unless you want to deafen people.

I am usually politically correct and most of the time if I have a negative remark I do so with humor. Today, I am embarrassed to be using Pro Tools.

sw rec 01-13-2010 03:52 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
You doing this on WIn 7 64-bit? It IS a "public BETA" version. As in "Take your chances.."
I'm using 8.0.3 on my 002/XP 32-bit system without a hitch.

Parisstudio 01-13-2010 04:11 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
Hmm, so was I and then swishhhhwooooswishhh. It will happen and when it does, its going to be bigger then ever. I rolled back to 8.0.1, I still get the sporadic white noise but not nearly as bad. I never had the noise in 8.0.1 until I upgraded to 8.0.3 and back. I hate this crap, I'm looking at cubase 5.0 looks awesome with plenty of toys. Lets see.

sw rec 01-13-2010 04:15 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
What interfaces we talking about here?

Kris75 01-13-2010 04:16 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
Windows XP SP3
Pro Tools 8.03
Digi 002R
i7 920
3 Gigs of ram.

A complete joke. FWIW, 8.01 never had this problem.

Kris75 01-13-2010 05:29 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
I will triple check my ram timings again (although they "should" be correct)
I will also post a Sandra report later tonight.

mykhal c 01-13-2010 05:32 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
Kris, might be worth postin' your situation in the 8.0.3 W7 thread too...just to make AVIDIGI aware that this not just happenin' on W7 systems with 8.0.3. just a thought:o

Shan 01-13-2010 05:51 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
kris75, we'll check out your RAM timings and take it from there. Your rig needs to be up and running by 7pm tomorrow night. ;) :D

Shane

filosofem 01-13-2010 05:54 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
Oh hello back from vacation. :p

filosofem

TOM@METRO 01-13-2010 05:59 PM

Re: Warning:go back to 8.01
 
Hi Shane>:D

I've been warning people for days not to use this in their studio rigs yet. I have seen this behavior and more. I have a full workig W7/64 bit system and would not consider using it with a client. It's just not ready. Nor is it advertised as ready for any W7 system other than for beta testing.

And yes, I pulled this off the XP rig after the first few hours. But that was for the distortion issue.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com