Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Dealing with a Thief (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=139758)

spicyitaliano 06-19-2005 10:52 PM

Dealing with a Thief

Here's an interesting situation -

I'm a mixing engineer (and on occasion a producer) in my own small-business studio. I've got some great gear and I have some good sized gigs for big clients for many networks. I'm doing pretty good for myself right now. Well, I've got a long time friend of mine who has been picking at the guitar since high school. I haven't been in touch with him in years now. He called me just the other day and said "I heard you were into recording studio stuff...can you help me?

Well, it sounded innocent at first. Then he adds, "I downloaded a bunch of software, something called logic, some apple-town live program, and something that the guy at Radio Shack tells me is what the big guys use, something called Pro Tech, no no -- Tools of the Pro..." "Pro Tools?" I asked. "Yeah, thats it! And is was all free...how cool is that? I also have a buddy of mine who says he'll give me some Platinum wavy stuff, and something called East West Platinum - sounds lame...what do you think?"

Then he tops it off by asking me if he could come over to my facility and show him how to "run a recording studio." Okay, I was really at a loss of words at this point. I just said, "I'll call you tomorrow."

So what would you do?

Bob Legs 06-20-2005 04:02 AM

Re: Dealing with a Thief

I call these types of people "takers"

if this guy is really a 'friend' he needs to understand that in this life, nothing is free

usually with people like this, theyre testing (whether they know it or not) to see how much they can get for nothing.