Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   AAX Plug-ins (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=98)
-   -   AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407163)

zavid 11-15-2019 04:44 AM

AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ???

:confused: :confused: :confused:

but manufacturers say only : AAX

thanks for any info about

Meads 11-15-2019 05:25 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Yes.

zavid 11-15-2019 06:26 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Meads (Post 2544587)
Yes.

…..something more ?
thanks

musicman691 11-16-2019 04:27 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zavid (Post 2544585)
AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ???

:confused: :confused: :confused:

but manufacturers say only : AAX

thanks for any info about

Usually a developer will say 'aax dsp' if a plugin supports that. Otherwise when you see 'aax' only take it to mean aax native.

Southsidemusic 11-16-2019 08:14 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2544656)
Usually a developer will say 'aax dsp' if a plugin supports that. Otherwise when you see 'aax' only take it to mean aax native.

What Jack said and also take it to be AAX 64 bit as most devs do 64 bit and have dropped 32 bit aax plugin support.

JFreak 11-16-2019 08:52 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Obviously AAX32 only affects PT10 which is already old enough; but yes, if you are using PT10 then you should be extra careful and ask the developer directly if their plugin works in PT10 or not.

zavid 11-17-2019 10:04 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2544656)
Usually a developer will say 'aax dsp' if a plugin supports that. Otherwise when you see 'aax' only take it to mean aax native.

many thanks to everybody for the info !

Then :

AAX do not mean that if you have HDX card
the plug in work as the old TDM with instance on the dap card
(low digital word data compression) ,

and if Native (no HDX card with dsp)
the same AAX plug in is processed by the Cpu D.a.w. computer
as for the old RTAS , and Vst , AU …..
(with more digital word data compression) ?

but why a 32 bit on today pro tools with 64 bit processing ?
if used with PPC Cpu , Windows XP ,Cubase & co. ?

more thanks for any info about !

musicman691 11-17-2019 10:48 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zavid (Post 2544772)
many thanks to everybody for the info !

Then :

AAX do not mean that if you have HDX card
the plug in work as the old TDM with instance on the dap card
(low digital word data compression) ,

and if Native (no HDX card with dsp)
the same AAX plug in is processed by the Cpu D.a.w. computer
as for the old RTAS , and Vst , AU …..
(with more digital word data compression) ?

but why a 32 bit on today pro tools with 64 bit processing ?
if used with PPC Cpu , Windows XP ,Cubase & co. ?

more thanks for any info about !

There is no digital word data compression going on anywheres.
AAX dsp means if you have an HDX card it gets processed there on the dsp on the card. AAX means it gets processed by the computer's cpu.

JFreak 11-17-2019 01:02 PM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Yes and there is no difference in sound, compared to RTAS/TDM era when one was 32float and another was 48fixed

zavid 11-18-2019 05:56 AM

Re: AAX (Dsp) & AAX Native (Daw Cpu) ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JFreak (Post 2544782)
Yes and there is no difference in sound, compared to RTAS/TDM era when one was 32float and another was 48fixed

do you mean that the same AAX plug in
placed inside the HDX card dsp chip and on the D.a.w. cpu ,

sound identical ?
(64 bit)

still cannot understand why the plug ins manufacturers
do not specify : AAX-Dsp & AAX-Native :confused: :confused: :confused:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com