Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2018 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=157)
-   -   Quick shortcut to center screen around selection? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=400344)

SigFriedChicken 07-25-2018 10:32 AM

Quick shortcut to center screen around selection?
 
I know this is a noob question, but is there a quick shortcut to just center the screen -- at the current zoom level -- around whatever is currently selected?

Sometimes when I change zoom levels or track heights, the view jumps far away from the actual selection, forcing me to figure out where I am and then scrolling to get back home.

I know that you can use "E" to zoom all the way in on the current selection, but I don't want to zoom all the way in. "Alt F" sort of works, but only horizontally, and it changes the zoom level. I just want to center the screen around the selection at the current zoom level.

Ray JB 07-25-2018 02:29 PM

Re: Quick shortcut to center screen around selection?
 
Left arrow

SigFriedChicken 07-29-2018 09:41 AM

Re: Quick shortcut to center screen around selection?
 
Thanks.

This seems to center things horizontally, but not vertically. Is there anything that centers the screen around the selection vertically (or both)?

Stig Eliassen 07-30-2018 02:14 AM

Re: Quick shortcut to center screen around selection?
 
On holiday, but I believe it's Ctrl+Cmd+down arrow?

amagras 07-30-2018 05:20 AM

Re: Quick shortcut to center screen around selection?
 
I've notice this lately. I think something has changed either in my settings or in the code because I'm used to press E and the track(s) selected will go straight to the center of the screen and zoom even if they are not in the visible part of the edit window but now they remain whenever they are and I have to scroll up or down to find them.

amagras 07-30-2018 05:21 AM

Re: Quick shortcut to center screen around selection?
 
Double post

nob turner 08-09-2019 11:47 AM

Re: Quick shortcut to center screen around selection?
 
I've been struggling with this since upgrading to 2018.12. It used to be that hitting the left or right arrow would center the left or right boundary of the currently selected region on the screen. That seems no longer to work. It really slows me down. Is there a toggle somewhere to make this function again?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com