Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!! (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=281690)

ZDF 09-08-2010 11:03 AM

MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!
 
Hey all, thanks for your help! Yesterday my mbox2pro worked like a charm, today no power, i've tried everything. This is my chain:
Mbookpro-500G Seagatefirewire800HD-firewire800/400adapter-Mbox2pro

I'm going to try to reinstall PT but avoid the 8.0.4 update in case that might be the issue...

Z

Dism 09-08-2010 01:07 PM

Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ZDF (Post 1665027)
Hey all, thanks for your help! Yesterday my mbox2pro worked like a charm, today no power, i've tried everything. This is my chain:
Mbookpro-500G Seagatefirewire800HD-firewire800/400adapter-Mbox2pro

I'm going to try to reinstall PT but avoid the 8.0.4 update in case that might be the issue...

Z

No need to create multiple posts... just bump the same one.

We're gonna need more info.

Are you using the power adapter for the MBox? Which Macbook Pro model? Pro Tools version? OSX version?

Next...

Particularly for the MBox2Pro... there have many been reported issues with your setup. Running 800->800 then 800->400 can result in issues, because the hard drive in the chain may not be dropping the bus speed properly. This can be the result of firmware issues, among other things.

Ideally, you want a FW400 drive.

Macbook -> 800->400 cable -> Drive -> MBox

Keeps the chain consistent, and less room for error. If your Macbook has an ExpressCard slot, you'd be better off getting a FW card, and keep the drive and MBox on completely separate busses.

ZDF 09-08-2010 02:11 PM

Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!
 
Thanks so much for your help! I thought my rig info would show up. Anyway, here's what I'm using:

MacBookPro i7 2.66ghz with 4G ram OS X10.6.4 using PT LE 8.0.4

I AM using a daisy chain from the Macbook to the FW800 HD then to the Mbox2pro using a 800/400 adapter. If there is a history of problems with this setup, I might need to change it up. I am NOT using a power adapter as I thought it would be easier(one less thing to plug in) to power the Mbox with the FW.

Is this the probable cause for my issue?

Will Russell 09-08-2010 02:38 PM

Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!
 
First question. If you connect the MBox2PRO directly to the computer with the FW800-FW400 adapter, does it power up?
Second question. Do you have another cable/adapter to try?

ZDF 09-08-2010 03:05 PM

Re: MBOX2Pro won't power on anymore!!
 
Yep, I've tried a different cable, different adapter, straight into the macbook, daisy chained, etc. I've tried reinstalling PT and only installing PT 8.0.3, and still no love from the mbox. I'm on the road so I won't be able to try the actual wall wart until I get home.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com