Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Using Summit Audio 2BA-221 preamp with Mbox2 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=190729)

aaronson 02-24-2007 10:15 AM

Using Summit Audio 2BA-221 preamp with Mbox2
 
Hello. I am trying to use a Summit Audio 2BA-221 pre-amp without much luck. I was told to go from the XL out to a 1/4 in on the mbox (line) because the line out on the 2ba is -10db. But I have also tried going straight from the line out to the line in.

Either way I am running into difficulties. My main problem lies here: the input switch on the mbox2 goes between DI and Microphone. There is no way to tell it to use the line input. If I plug something into LINE and switch the input to DI I get no signal. If I switch it to Mic, I do get a signal but it isn't clean. I'm pretty sure the noise is coming from the mbox'2 internal preamps, because even with the gain of the 2BA all the way down, i still hear noise coming from the mbox2. I have tried a variety of cables, to that's not the problem.

Does anyone use the mbox2 with a separate pre-amp? Or (better) this preamp? Could someone tell me the right way to plug it in.

Also, what is the deal with the line in? The instructions on the mbox2 say to select "line" as the input, but that must be copied over from the instructions to the original mbox, because the mbox2 has no such switch. So what is the proper setting to use the line in (which should bypass the preamp, right?).

Thanks!
jack

albee1952 02-24-2007 06:24 PM

Re: Using Summit Audio 2BA-221 preamp with Mbox2
 
First, go to I/O setup and see if you can ADD PATH and select line in. You may just not have the I/O set correctly so the line inputs are not available when you choose input source.

aaronson 02-25-2007 12:07 AM

Re: Using Summit Audio 2BA-221 preamp with Mbox2
 
thanks for the advice. the i/o, though, only lets you select r/l for stereo paths or mono 1/2 for mono paths. There are no settings like line/mic.

does anyone who uses the mbox2 know how to set this up?

Thanks!
jack


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com