Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   The Drum Room (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   How do you mix Superior Drummer? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=256281)

nate11 10-06-2009 11:16 PM

How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
Hi, I'm curious...how do you guys got the best results mixing drums on SD2.2?

are you using the mix inside the plugin?..do you buss the individual drums right into PTools LE 8 and mix it there?

by the way, congrats for the drum section....I'm gonna love it:rolleyes:

anothercolour 10-07-2009 01:51 PM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
I go out to individual channels for each dry drum instrument. I don't use the ambiance channels, bleed through, or effects in Superior Drummer; I prefer to use room patches from good reverb plugins with aux sends in ProTools for room ambiance, and I feel I have more control over the drum sounds using EQ plugins at the ProTools channels.

albee1952 10-07-2009 06:24 PM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
That's about the same for me. I will use it in stereo for fleshing out a project, but then I will assign all the "voices' to separate tracks(AUX tracks in Pro Tools). I save the multi-channel setup as a kit preset. I gravitate toward my own room verb and also use an AUX bus for compression. Custom kits rule and one of favs is using the Avatar kit with the Black Beauty from the Nashville EZX.

danander11 10-07-2009 07:02 PM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
Have any of you used the Custom & Vintage SDX upgrade yet? Some of the snares there look beaut!

albee1952 10-07-2009 08:22 PM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
I can tell you the Metal Foundry is quite good too.

Stiff 10-07-2009 11:44 PM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
I never use any processing inside Superior. I'll buss every track out and mix separately.... Well, to the extent that I actually mix drums ;)

Kaashoofd 10-19-2009 02:32 PM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
I think this would be the place to ask this question:

How do i assign channels in SD to my Aux channels?
I created the Aux channels in Logic, but i cant seem to get them assigned in SD.

Im kinda new to SD and Logic, but my goal is to have one drumkit from SD record all seperate drums (kick, snare etc) on different tracks to process them seperately.

So i would like to record as if i was recording one track, but its recording on multiple tracks.

I hope this makes sense.....

albee1952 10-19-2009 05:23 PM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
If you open the SD mixer window, you can assign all the sounds to separate tracks(by default, they are all assigned to TRACK 1). Once you assign the sounds, close the plugin and create as many stereo tracks as you need. You can use audio tracks and record, OR you can use aux tracks and treat them with plugins(just as you would do for audio tracks) without burning up audio tracks.

Kaashoofd 10-20-2009 12:56 AM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
Thanks a lot. It took some figuring out, but ive managed to get what i need.
Saved it as a template so i wont forget :)
Tnx again

dglennjr 10-22-2009 09:11 AM

Re: How do you mix Superior Drummer?
 
Hey guys! I figured I'd chime in on this one because I am a huge fan of S2.2....

I have 3 methods of workflow with Superior Drummer.

1. I like to utilize/experiment with the presets for each instrument/mic in the S2 mixer WHILE WRITING/TRACKING OTHER INSTRUMENTS because of how much each preset changes the sound... If I don't hear what i'm looking for I'll find something close and move on for tracking purposes.

2. With the kick and snare maybe even the rooms, i'll shape the sound somewhat as if I was utilizing outboard gear to tape and once I've got things feeling good I bus and track things as audio in Pro Tools. From PT I mix just as I would live drums.

3. I LOVE to blend S2 with a live kit... Usually I do my writing with S2 and i'll program what I want the drummer to play... I let my session guy listen to it and from there track him and let him do things my way and also give him the freedom to experiment on additional takes... From there I comp the drums, utilize drum tracker to convert the kick, snare, and toms to midi and from there I blend S2 samples with my real kit... Sometimes I end up with a completely replaced sound, but I put a good bit of effort into balancing the blend to get a really good sound with both the live drums and the samples from S2.

My 2 cents... Love PT 8 and S2. Even using Transfuser after converting to midi with S2 is beneficial in the instance where you want to use your own sound library of drums outside of Superior. LOVE TRANSFUSER!!! ;)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com