Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Video Cards (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=305783)

doylemusic 08-12-2011 04:36 PM

Video Cards
 
I just upgraded my PC and got everything stabilized, but I'm not happy with my video situation. I was using an Nvidia card (GeForce 8600 GT I believe), but turns out that was causing issues with PT. So I bought an ATI Firepro V3700. Problem is I can't seem to get the resolution to work right. I've tried various drivers. I've also tried to get Catalyst working, but that thing is all hosed up. Additionally I tried a program called Powerstrip.

I'm tempted to go back to an Nvida card as the administration and screen control stuff seemed much more straight forward. Anybody running an Nvida card with and LCD TV in Win 7, on PT8 :-)

BTW - my issue is if I set screen resolution to fit my LCd (1366X768) the screen doesn't fill the entire display. Using the text enlarging option in Win 7 doesn't help. If I set it to 1968X whatever, it fills the display now, but things are a bit too small for me. Especially text (hey, I'm old). I have ATI CCC installed, but I can't launch CCC, no errors just doesn't open. I've tried some fixes for that but no luck.

sakkakth 08-19-2011 09:20 AM

Re: Video Cards
 
I have a similar setup although I am on 9.0.2. I was having problems with the same video card. I forget which error number I had but it basically wouldn't play/record for more than 30 seconds without telling me that either my drives were too slow or such. We narrowed it down to the video cards and switched to the Nvidia 450 GTS and no more issues. I actually run 2 of these cards, 1 to go to computer monitors and one to go to LCD.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com