Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300475)

albee1952 05-05-2011 08:17 PM

Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted
 
Hey Folks, now that we have had some time for things to settle in, and Focusrite has delivered their plugin for monitoring, is this a contender, or not? Specifically, how is the plugin monitoring working(will I miss the LLM feature of my 003, or is it all moot when working at a 64 buffer)? Much as I like my 003, as a controller, it takes regular vacations from operation(thankfully, the transport buttons always work). Yesterday, I worked several sessions for several hours and the scribble strip stayed dark, and the faders never moved. Today, all worked fine. Operation with PT8(and back to 7.3) was always perfect:rolleyes:, but I am not going to give up PT9 and I can get transport buttons on a Presonus Faderport(which I already own). Has anyone done a side by side sonic comparison? Are there issues I need to be aware of? Can I stuff in another 16 inputs with the 2 lightpipe ports? Inquiring minds want to know:D

KroNEe 05-05-2011 08:48 PM

Re: Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted
 
I was checking that out yesterday, looks very nice. But wouldnt you run into the same problems with latency using the software it comes with? As in we are missing software monitoring on/off option? I really like how may options you would have with that thing. Scared to even know the list price.....

KroNEe 05-05-2011 09:09 PM

Re: Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted
 
Should of read up a little more. This looks like a really nice choice! And its under a grand!!!

Focusrite are proud to announce that Saffire audio interfaces are now the best choice for the world's leading audio recording software, Pro Tools 9. Whatʼs more, to combine the functionality of Saffire Pro interfaces with the worldʼs most popular DAW, Focusrite have launched RTAS MixControl, a plug-in that provides comprehensive control over the Firewire-powered Saffireʼs onboard DSP mixer within the Pro Tools environment.

Along with flexible routing control, RTAS MixControl will enable Pro Tools users to blend the monitor mix between channel input and DAW output signals during tracking, so performers can benefit from true zero-latency monitoring.


Focusrite's Saffire range comprises six best-in-class audio interfaces, including the compact but versatile Saffire 6 USB and the flagship Liquid Saffire 56. Each one is now the perfect companion to Pro Tools. RTAS MixControl only operates in combination with the Firewire-enabled Saffire Pro range.

albee1952 05-06-2011 07:01 AM

Re: Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted
 
Thanks, but I already know all the hype. I'm looking for some hands-on opinions:rolleyes:

KroNEe 05-06-2011 09:48 AM

That was more for my overlooking the RTAS interface plugin to use the DSP router with 0 latency. This has been out for a couple years. Only heard about it from another thread. The price seems to good to live up to the "hype" would like to hear from any one that uses this with PT9 also.
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 1790868)
Thanks, but I already know all the hype. I'm looking for some hands-on opinions:rolleyes:


Keybeeetsss 05-06-2011 11:06 AM

I helped a friend of mine set 1 up & I must say it is sweet!!! Sounds much better than stock Digi racks.. latency didn't seem to be any issue whatsoever.. if I hadn't invested so much into my rack i'd get 1 in a 'fruit snack' especially being that its only 1buck on'eim!!! He also has the Liquid mix too.. & those liquid pres are pretty farkin amazing too!.. u really get a lot for the little $ u spend for it...

Sent from EPIC 4G using Tapatalk On'eim...

KroNEe 05-06-2011 06:46 PM

Re: Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted
 
Man, I will take your word on that, So did I just miss this? All of that for under a grand, and you are saying the liquid pres are that good.... I am getting mad at my Apogee Mini Me at the moment, but at the time for me it was the best option. I sill love the sound of Apogee, plus a much better clock to boot. It has served me well. But man that Saffire 56 is looking sweet! I just can't believe there has not been more noise about this thing. Thats a lot for under a grand.....


Quote:

Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss (Post 1790922)
I helped a friend of mine set 1 up & I must say it is sweet!!! Sounds much better than stock Digi racks.. latency didn't seem to be any issue whatsoever.. if I hadn't invested so much into my rack i'd get 1 in a 'fruit snack' especially being that its only 1buck on'eim!!! He also has the Liquid mix too.. & those liquid pres are pretty farkin amazing too!.. u really get a lot for the little $ u spend for it...

Sent from EPIC 4G using Tapatalk On'eim...


Keybeeetsss 05-06-2011 11:11 PM

I say its wayyyyyy priced... The Manley slam pre on there got me tryna find a coupon for a real one... Its really unbelievable for da price...

Sent from EPIC 4G using Tapatalk On'eim...

Dirt_ 05-07-2011 12:38 AM

Re: Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted
 
Did a bit of research on those and came up with two red flags in my opinion. The first and most important: the line in goes through the pre. As in, if you're using an outboard pre, it goes through the onboard pre as well. Not straight to the converter. The other red flag but not nearly as bad is that there is an 11 sample delay in the pre due to digital signal processing used in the emulators.

albee1952 05-07-2011 09:36 AM

Re: Considering a Saffire 56. Opinions wanted
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dirt_ (Post 1791161)
Did a bit of research on those and came up with two red flags in my opinion. The first and most important: the line in goes through the pre. As in, if you're using an outboard pre, it goes through the onboard pre as well. Not straight to the converter. The other red flag but not nearly as bad is that there is an 11 sample delay in the pre due to digital signal processing used in the emulators.

Thanks for pointing those out. I think they won't be deal-breakers as my external preamps will come via lightpipe, and I doubt anybody can hear 11 samples while recording:rolleyes: Anybody actually own and use one?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:15 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com