Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=185392)

Fred Cannons 12-28-2006 05:33 PM

Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems
 
I am having terrible problems running my expansion chassis! Anybody out there having problems with same?
G5 Dual 2.7 Ghz Power PC with 2.5gb RAM running 10.4.8 OS
Core card, Accell card and 2 Process cards

After over night cool down system powers up fine and alll is good. Then after some time (too variable to mention) there will be some sort of error. ie: "lost communication with Sync i/o" or Pro Tools will decide to loop half a bar of music and will continue this even after quitting PT and shutting down the G5. Then on re-start I get message "Unable to communicate with hardware etc etc"

Anyone experiencing this?

I have tried 2 chassis and 2 ethernet cards (Digi) and 2 Cat 6 cables

We are all stumped here .......

ProTooler 12-28-2006 05:57 PM

Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems
 
Have/can you run digitest? What are the results?

Craig F 12-28-2006 06:51 PM

Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems
 
what version are you running?

Fred Cannons 12-28-2006 07:56 PM

Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems
 
I am running PT 7.2 cs 2
Have not done Digi test. I have been in communication with Digi techs and they have not mentioned that. I may try that tomorrow.
thanks-Fred

Dutchmuzik 12-28-2006 08:56 PM

Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems
 
Definitely run a Digitest, I am running a G5 Dual 2.7 myself with an HD|Expansion Chassis, no problems here.

dr sound 12-28-2006 11:50 PM

Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems
 
Fred,
Go to 7.3 . It will solve your problems. I had similar problems with 7.2, but when I went to 7.3 and the problems with the chassis went away.

Fred Cannons 12-29-2006 09:19 AM

Re: Digidesign Expansion Chassis Problems
 
Really - interesting. That is an easy fix - if it works. I will try that today - thanks for the tip Doc.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com