Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=360854)

ellacw 11-17-2014 06:24 PM

Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite
 
Hello.

Have M Audio Fast Track w/ Pro Tools SE 8.03
Interfaced with Yosemite 10.10.1.

Since Yosemite upgrade glitchy and pull down menus troublesome.

I would like to know:
1. Can I upgrade Pro Tools to some other package?
2. Is Yosemite main cause .. I can wait
3. Time to get another interface w/more capability?

Help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Craig F 11-17-2014 08:14 PM

Re: Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite
 
8 is to old to work with Yosemite
you will need to buy a new copy of 11

I the Fast Track has drivers for Mavericks (probably won't work) but you can use just about any interface you want
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/D...ck-USB-Drivers

Lyvewire 01-02-2015 02:50 PM

Re: Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite
 
I updated my Mac to Yosemite. I'm using the mobil pre instead. It seems to be recording however when its playback time nothing comes out although I can see what recorded on the track. I'd hate to go back to Lion but need my protools. Any advice or workarounds.

Thanks!

Craig F 01-02-2015 03:17 PM

Re: Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite
 
PT 11.3 is the first version that supports Yosemite.

Justin Imbody 03-19-2015 08:17 AM

Re: Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite
 
I have a M-Audio Fast Track interface as well and was thinking of updating my Mac OS to Yosemite I have Pro Tools SE 8.0.1 will i have a issue as well and if so how do i work around it?

Craig F 03-19-2015 08:22 AM

Re: Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite
 
see my post above

Justin Imbody 03-19-2015 08:29 AM

Concerns about Pro Tools SE 8.0.3
 
Hello
I have Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 running on Mac OSX 10.7.5, I recently downloaded Adobe's Creative Cloud for my video editing needs but they are telling my i have to update my computer to Mac OSX 10.8 or higher I found a way to update to 10.8 but i want to make sure that its not going to affect my Pro Tools from working properly or if it does can i download a update for Pro Tools SE 8.0.3?

Any help anyone can give me will be greatly appreciated!

jeffro 03-19-2015 08:41 AM

Re: Pro Tools SE 8.03 and Yosemite
 
Welcome to the community!
Quote:

Originally Posted by Justin Imbody (Post 2242936)
I have a M-Audio Fast Track interface as well and was thinking of updating my Mac OS to Yosemite I have Pro Tools SE 8.0.1 will i have a issue as well and if so how do i work around it?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Justin Imbody (Post 2242942)
Hello
I have Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 running on Mac OSX 10.7.5, I recently downloaded Adobe's Creative Cloud for my video editing needs but they are telling my i have to update my computer to Mac OSX 10.8 or higher I found a way to update to 10.8 but i want to make sure that its not going to affect my Pro Tools from working properly or if it does can i download a update for Pro Tools SE 8.0.3?
Any help anyone can give me will be greatly appreciated!

v8.0.3 was the last version of Pro Tools SE, and http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/faq/en417171#lv shows 10.7 Lion was the latest Mac OS supported.
There is no discounted upgrade from Pro Tools SE, so you would need to purchase a full copy of Pro Tools (note that there are deals out there for Pro Tools 11 bundled with an interface that might actually be cheaper than just buying the software so check with some of our resellers for this).

Another option would be to partition your drive so you could dual boot - 10.7 for Pro Tools SE, and 10.8/etc. for Adobe CC.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com