Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   002 Rack- Phantom power button on back!??? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=75324)

JPS 07-01-2003 11:36 AM

002 Rack- Phantom power button on back!???
 
As I look at the setup of the 002r, I have noticed that the phantom power buttons are on the rear of the unit!??? This seems like a considerable inconvenience if you actually plan to rack it. Can anybody think of a good reason for having the buttons in the rear?

Calvin 07-01-2003 11:49 AM

Re: 002 Rack- Phantom power button on back!???
 
Good reason to have them in the rear? no sorry can't think of any. However if you aren't using ribbon microphones you could just leave the phantom power on as it does not do any damage to dynamic microphones but you have to use it for condenser mic's. The only problem is that phantom power will destroy your brand new ribbon microphone and it will probably cause your 002r to need servicing sooner.

TriAxis 07-01-2003 07:41 PM

Re: 002 Rack- Phantom power button on back!???
 
I have a few Phantom Powered mics.
Once or Twice or maybe it was 37 times, I accidently plugged in a Mic when phantom powered was engaged.
Also I had a track in Record mode engaged in ProTools.
When I plugged in the Mic a loud popping noise exploded out of my speakers.
It caused the Red Clip indicator to Max out and you might damage monitors.
I don't ever recommend plugging in anything with the Phantom power already engaged.

Calvin 07-01-2003 07:55 PM

Re: 002 Rack- Phantom power button on back!???
 
The work around would be to plug in the mic then turn the 002R on, however I don't have a 002r so I guess I really can't tell ya whether that would help any.

JPS 07-02-2003 12:06 AM

Re: 002 Rack- Phantom power button on back!???
 
No ribbon microphones. I have a few large and small diaphram mics, all phantom powered. The best being a Studio Projecets C3. I have always hooked up the mic, then turned on the phantom power, and turned it off before putting the mic away. Will it damage a large diaphram mic to hook it up with phantom power on? It doesn't seem advisable.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com