Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Plugins on a mixdown track (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=214760)

paul_g 01-27-2008 07:28 PM

Plugins on a mixdown track
 
Hi All,

Q about mixing down w/ plugins.

I want to mix down audio and aux tracks to a stereo audio track.
I would like to have Comp/Limiter on the final mix.

I'm guessing I should put the comp/limiter on the Master Fader track because I have low latency turned on...

If I put it on the stereo audio track that is designated for the mix down, the plugin becomes inactive. If I turn Low Latency monitoring off, the signal from my ext sequencer is not synched up with the audio.

So, by placing plugins on the Master Fader, will that send the 'effected' signal to the final mix down track?

Thanks!

DKM 01-27-2008 09:31 PM

Re: Plugins on a mixdown track
 
Yes, however a couple things to remember, in order to bounce to disk Aux inputs tracks coming in live (in real time)
low latency must be off. You can fix your midi timing problems by setting your playback buffer to 128 or lower providing
your computer can keep up. The lower the better. 32 samples if you run PT 7.4. (You may want to pre-record your midi tracks in to a stereo audio track before mixdown if you have a slower computer or a lot of plugs/instruments running. Deactivate all other tracks then record midi stuff in)

Don't forget to put a dither plug on your master fader (last in the chain) if you are changing bit depth/sample rate.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com