Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spike? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=187883)

DJ FADE 01-24-2007 01:35 PM

problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spike?
 
i'm trying to bounce a song, and i keep running in to problems with it. during each attempt to bounce, there will be one random noise spike added in. it comes in various places in the song, so its not in any of the audio files anywhere (i have double and triple checked). the noise doesnt play when in regular play mode in pro tools, only during the bounce. i am successfully bouncing other songs, just having trouble with one! ive closed/re-opened the session, shut down pro tools, even restarted the computer and its still doing it. i'm on ptle 6.9.

any help would be great!

thanks,
brandon

wolfskin 01-24-2007 03:31 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spike?
 
Are you hearing the noise DURING the bounce, or when playing back the bounced file? Have you tried using the 'convert after bounce' option?

lemix 01-24-2007 03:35 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
brandon,
Re-check your plug-ins, and give it a healthy top & tail space.

good luck,
a

DJ FADE 01-24-2007 03:59 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
thanks for the replies.

i can hear it during the bounce and in playback after its completed. i usually select the option to 'convert after bounce'.

what would you check in terms of plugins?

JMS40 01-24-2007 04:15 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
Are you making a selection to bounce or just bouncing the session end to end?
If not, try it. Pick any track and manually select from a spot at the start to a spot at the end. Then bounce.
See if that helps.
"Convert after" works best for me.

lemix 01-24-2007 04:16 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
Quote:

what would you check in terms of plugins?

..that they are compatible w/your version of PT,
- if they don't "spike" your CPU..
try printing them before bounce, if too taxing.

a

DJ FADE 01-24-2007 06:08 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
i always bounce a highlighted selection, althought i'll try to make the selection a little longer on the front and end and see if that helps. as far as plugins, they should all be compatible, as they were all purchased and are used on many other sessions that have no problems bouncing. maybe i will try to print some of them to tracks to conserve some cpu processing and see if that helps as well.

in the mean time, any other suggestions?

wolfskin 01-24-2007 11:52 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
If it's just this particular session, as you state, you might try importing the session data to a new session. I don't have an explanation as to why this session might be corrupt only when bouncing, but then again, I've seen stranger things

peterkohl 02-05-2007 10:56 AM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
I have the same problem running PT 5.1 on a Mac, but only when working in 16 bit/44.lk. And it only happens sometimes. My workaround is to change the length of the tail. I would like to know why this happens though.

Aussie169 02-05-2007 01:56 PM

Re: problems with bounce to disk - extra noise spi
 
Quote:

what would you check in terms of plugins?

Do you have any demo plugins in that session?
Some demo versions of plugins (Amplitube comes to mind) emit a burst of pink noise periodically so that you can't use them in an actual session till you buy it.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com