Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   PCIX or PCIE (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=275303)

jerberson12 06-01-2010 02:42 PM

PCIX or PCIE
 
Hi guys,

Is HD CORE PCIX noticeably slow from PCIE?
Is PCIX worth to start or should I wait and save more and get the PCIE instead?
Any other major differences between the two? PROS? CONS?
I am a protool beginner

lifer 06-01-2010 03:28 PM

Re: PCIX or PCIE
 
Pretty much no difference in power or speed..but big difference if you need a modern computer!
All new macs are pcie only..most pc boards are mixed but newest ones are pcie only.
You can build a good, fast i7 pc right now with pcix but this will probably be the last revisions that that is possible.
Depends what you need?
i have the older pcix in a fast pc and i love it..its more than powerful enough for most of my needs. I cant justify the extra costs and am waiting to see what avid do next :)

anyone else any thoughts?

lifer 06-01-2010 03:30 PM

Re: PCIX or PCIE
 
Ah..just re read your q properly..
Core pcie has extra chips..sorry.
You need the new chips to run Revibe and some other plugs.
You have to go HD2 with pcix if you want these..

emerson625 06-02-2010 07:35 AM

Re: PCIX or PCIE
 
Is it possible to run a pci-e and a pcix together on a pc? I have a pci-e core card and would like to add another.

lifer 06-02-2010 09:59 AM

Re: PCIX or PCIE
 
No, sadly you can't mix and match pcix and pci for some reason...


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com