PDA

View Full Version : Favorite Plugs in Waves Platinum or Renaissance...

jordan23
02-22-2004, 10:59 AM
Just curious what everyones favorite plugs and possible seetings in Waves are - I am fairly new to the Waves Platinum and could really use some helpful tips - Really diggin the RBass right now...

Andrew_k
02-23-2004, 07:22 PM
I use Ren. RVerb often for acoustic guitars. L2 on the master fader, also the PAZ metres just to keep a closer eye on some levels. There was a thread a little while ago listing some links to download plugin presets, you might find this helpful.

Cheers

rockrev
02-23-2004, 09:13 PM
Well, hands down the RComp is the sweetest sounding compressor plug-in. I don't think there's any way to make it sound bad (ok, well that's debatable). The factory presets are also good (I use the "Drums" and "Electric Guitar" settings all the time . . . tweaked to taste, of course). It's also my favorite master bus compressor too.

If you need some quick vocal magic, try RVox. Don't worry about the gate if you clean up your vocals in the editing. Just pull the comp. toggle down (shoot for an ave. of 3db reduction) and watch your output for clipping. Oh, and RVox can work as a quick and dirty compressor for just about anything mono. If you're new to compressors, it's a good one to start with.

Here's a quick compression tip. You may need it, you may not. If you have a hard time setting your compressor on a master bus (compressing the whole mix) try this:

1. Insert Waves RComp and select the preset "Mastering Hard."
2. Disable the ARC and adjust your ratio to 5:1.
3. Set the attack time as slow as possible - the release time as fast as possible.
4. Play the song and listen with headphones on.
5. Pull the threshold down so that you're getting at least 3db of reduction.