PDA

View Full Version : Female vocal problems

MV
10-30-2002, 10:30 PM
Hi.I'm having trouble getting this lady's voice to sound good.The problem is that she has a very nasal quality to her voice that she doesn't like.What can I do minimize this problem?Any mic placement suggestions,eq....????
Thanks a lot,and sorry if it's a dumb question.I'm not an expert.
She's driving me crazy. images/icons/shocked.gif

picksail
10-30-2002, 10:45 PM
Encourage her to embrace her voice (nasaly or otherwise) and embellish the hell out of it. If she lacks confidence then you won't get a worthwhile performance anyway.

Brent Hahn
10-31-2002, 10:03 AM
Try putting the mic about shoulder-high and asking the singer to tilt her head down a little to sing into it. Tilting the head down will open her airway more and fatten up her low end (just like a high-carb diet).

Also, some (mostly expensive) mics are more girl-friendly in the low end than others. AKG C12, for instance. Ditto preamps-cheap ones sound thin. Avalon M5 or 2022, Grace, Buzz, API all have a nice extended bottom.

zoggied
10-31-2002, 10:24 AM
Placing the mic slightly off axis will reduce the nasel cavity resonance in some cases. Additionally, some minor EQ adjustment helps out. Try taking the 2-6k range down around 3db.

MV
10-31-2002, 03:01 PM
Thanks for the answers.The mic I'm using is a Newman TLM103.The preamp is a Bellari RP520.
I have other preamps(HHB Radius10 and Focusrite Voicemaster,and the C24 preamps).Other vocal mic I have is the Shure KSM32.
Any suggestions on a combo?She's also complaining about a lack of low frequencies.

Thanks a lot! images/icons/wink.gif

Kevin lucero
11-02-2002, 03:56 PM
low end: