PDA

View Full Version : Mastering In The San Francisco Bay Area

Hardnox
04-16-2002, 10:39 AM
I'm looking for mastering in the San Francisco Bay Area. Any suggestions, do or don'ts. I appreciate your advice.

Krusty
04-16-2002, 02:49 PM
The best mastering guys are in LA and NY.. don't kid yourself.

PS. and I live in the SF area

Hardnox
04-16-2002, 04:17 PM
Who do you recommend Krusty? In LA/NY. I'm an indi artists and don't have a huge budget.

snoopy
04-16-2002, 05:35 PM
Good friend of mine just opened up a nice Mastering suite in LA. SOnic Solutions, Mnaley, Weiss, L2, and all that kinda fun stuff. Might be worth a look:

http://www.promastering.com/

scottgreiner
04-17-2002, 02:42 PM
I was suprised to find that even the top mastering engineers weren't much more than an unknown quantity. It's all about the guy (or gal) not the gear. I'm mastering with Brian Gardener at Bernie Grundman on monday. Though I've never worked with him before, he's highly regarded and recommended, and the cd's he's worked on seem to "do it" for me. I'll try to remember to post my feelings when we're finished.

J&H Productions
04-19-2002, 08:56 PM
There is only one guy in SF who I would recommend, and that's Paul Stubblebine:

www.paulstubblebine.com (http://www.paulstubblebine.com)

Very fine indeed.

Hardnox
04-20-2002, 01:37 AM
Where is Bernie Grundman Mastering Located?

BboY
04-20-2002, 10:08 AM
I belive in LA, Hardnox you know where Dr. Dre is from. Check the back of the many CDs of Dre you have and read. You know Brian Gardener right? He masters for Dre. I think Dre calls him Big Bass Brian, Quik may also call him that. Just think if you can get Brian you will be that much closer to Dre. (Hmmmm Dreammmy) images/icons/rolleyes.gif You could put Concord on the map just like Dre put Compton on the map. ***Comin straigt out of Concord, Crazy preppy named Hardnox.... images/icons/grin.gif

Hardnox
04-20-2002, 01:06 PM