PDA

View Full Version : MIDI, drum machines,001

music_connoisseur
02-09-2001, 09:29 PM
Hello,

I am a musician who is new to midi and digital recording in general. I just bought the 001 and am trying to get my alesis sr-16 drum machine to work with it.

When I set up a midi track to my drum machine I get signal but no sound in my headphones. If I set it up as an audio track I get sound. Is this because midi is not audio? If so how do I get it to work for me?

Like I said I'm new to this so here's a list of stupid questions...

I'm pretty sure I have the midi settings on my drum machine wrong.

Do I want OMNI or individual channals?

Drum in off, on v1 or v2?

Drum out off or on?

I think I want to use the 001 as a sequencer (something else I have no experience with) so I want the clock in off right?

Clock out off or on?

Midi thru? Program change? Note map?

Also, is there a way that I can have my drum machine send each individual drum sound to a different track?

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Psycopupil
02-10-2001, 08:33 AM
I'm also a Midi novice, but I got past a similar situation (the no sound thing).

What worked for me is as follows...

On my Boss DR5 drum machine I have 4 tracks -(1 track is drums, 1 track is bass, 1 track is keyboards and I forget what the other is). Anyway, each DR5 track corresponds to a Midi channel (the drums are on Ch. 10 and I get the impression that's a default for drums). You should set the Alesis drums to CH. 10, or whatever so long as it's the same on both the Alesis and the Midi track.
So in my Midi track I select Digi001 and either Ch. 1,2,3, or 10 depending on what samples I want to hear.

As far as Midi set-up: I set my Sync to internal. You don't need to have "Thru" on unless you have more than one Midi device in a chain. "Prog" is set to off (in my case).

The next step is the key:
Set up a second track as an "Aux Track".

Hears the wiring and track settings: