PDA

View Full Version : How to get Pro Tools mixes sounding phat

04-25-2001, 02:11 PM
not shure that helps, but i find D2-D3 bad. I can get a little bit warmer sound with Filterbank, Renaissance Eq and MDT multichannel compressor.
Anyway i have the same problem, and i have to boost the lows and lows-mid and to cut the 4-6K f.

0.0025 cts

------------------
somewhere in the planet

Jules
04-25-2001, 06:41 PM
Waves
McDSp
Bomb Factory

Are the premier leauge for EQ and compression.

Do you know the trick of trying to keep the PT mixer fader at 0 and setting 'general & static levels within a high quality plug in? I am too poor a typist to explaine the reasoning behind it, perhaps some kind soul will do it...

http://duc.digidesign.com/ubb/images/icons/smile.gif

Jules

Corey Shay
04-25-2001, 09:08 PM
I agree, the focusrite stuff sounds exactly like that especially when you end up boosting top end with it.

Tone
04-26-2001, 12:54 AM
I have been using a mix Plus system for about 2 years now, initially just as a tracking/editing device. Over the past few months, I've taken the plunge and had a bash at mixing tracks totally in PT still patching in outboard for verbs etc.

The most recent album project I've done is sounding pretty good but I'm still feeling it has some way further to go before I can get really comfortable with doing everything in PT.

I have Avalon Pre's, Apogee A/D, fairly decent mics and outboard verbs, Lexicon, Roland, Sony etc but I find myself working hard to get to where I want as compared to other (even some digital) boards.

Once everything is in PTs, I hear a nice feeling of seperation and clarity in everything but coupled with that is a thinning out of the lows and a strange sense that the highs are a bit rough - it's hard to get any nice 'sizzle' without it sounding a bit cheap. I've been using mostly the D2/D3 and MH channelstrip.