PDA

View Full Version : Mono button


Danny Caccavo
04-01-2001, 08:35 PM
Well, I've had some disagreements with people about this - but even on the new analog board upgrade, the mono button increases the level of the center information!

Now, I've kinda been doing this engineering thing for a LONG time, and that just ain't right. How the hell are you supposed to tell how mono compatible your mix is, if there isn't proper attenuation in the monoing circuit to keep the center information at the same level?

DC

michael c
04-02-2001, 10:28 AM
Most pro and large format consoles dim the volume -3 db when summed to mono to compensate for this volume increase. Pro Control doesn't............. (That $400.00 'upgrade' went to fix other areas.)

Axis Audio
04-05-2001, 12:40 AM
Control 24 seems to have the same issue with summing volume. My mono mix is significantly louder than its stereo counterpart as tested with a commercial CD.

Barry
Axis-Audio