PDA

View Full Version : PC & Analog console


COCO
10-06-2000, 07:30 AM
Anybody using a CR with both an analog console and a Pro Control. Yes, sharing the same footprint. Can it be done well somehow? Don't ask why....

COCO

Jules
10-06-2000, 07:57 AM
Why!
http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/images/icons/smile.gif
Jules

COCO
10-06-2000, 09:09 AM
I knew it would happen....
Well, it's for an educational institution, and so there's still a valid reason for having an analog console. The prob is, it's all in one CR.

Any ideas?

Hey Jules, my little closet seems to be working out. Glad yours is too. It's a mini machine room!

-COCO

Ang1970
10-07-2000, 12:05 AM
Do you already have the analogue board, or is there some flexibility?

Maybe argosy could put together a hybrid desk for you, something that would house the PC on the left and maybe an 8 bus mixer on the right.



------------------
Angelo Quaglia
AQ Productions

Jules
10-07-2000, 10:28 AM
Cool COCO!
http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/images/icons/smile.gif
Jules

clarpark
10-07-2000, 01:48 PM
hey coco,
sorry you had to see the previous messages.

of course i have both, same footprint. some of us producers still use tape, that's why there is still some good sounding music out there. I have <2> 2"x2" medium hard foam pieces, about the width of the procontrol. i set one just above the faders (faders are down) and one about 16" up on the console. then set, gently the procontrol on top. in an analog session i remove the pc for tracking and then put it up for editing, etc.

argosy is a sorry looking thing, sorry argosy.

Jules
10-08-2000, 06:27 AM
I've seen a photo where the Procontrol was in a cavity UNDER the desk that held the mixing consol. The top slid sideways on rollers to reveal the PC down below!
http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/images/icons/smile.gif
Jules

[This message has been edited by Jules (edited October 08, 2000).]

COCO
10-08-2000, 10:17 PM
Now we're talkin'! I fired off an e-mail to Argossy to see what they can come up with. When I looked at their on line catalog, it seemed like the faders were way far from the wristpad. And to me, that spells arm problems. But it's only a pic, so, who knows. Any Argossy mount PC owners/users/fans/detractors out there? Also could not see where the computer keyboard would mount. Thanks for the suggestion clarpark; if it was my room, I'd be able to do that without breakage; but those dam% college kids, you know. PC on the floor and twisted pots all around...not good for this "application." I like what Jules saw. The PC on a rail (with stoppers) sliding l - r. Sounds like a custom fix. I'll look into that.
Thanks to all. If you got more, please feel free.

-COCO

Jules
10-09-2000, 04:45 AM
That fader distance on the Argosy was the reason I didnt go for it. The best way to mount one is in a table with the PC resessed, in it. I have it on top of a table and it is too high and pissing me off, I will cut the table down soon so that faders are lower...
Jules

Last
10-09-2000, 01:13 PM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by clarpark:
[B]hey coco,
sorry you had to see the previous messages.

of course i have both, same footprint. some of us producers still use tape, that's why there is still some good sounding music out there.

Dear Clarkie....I hate venting at users in this forum , but REALLLYYYY!!!How does it feel to be on the endangered species list mr tape?Please have a peek at the users-section on this site.The days of tape based studios pulling up their noses at us digital users are OVER.Analoge is here only because it had a 50 year head-start.I got a S#!t load of flak when I came up with our studio , BUILT around protools...I almost lost my job.Lucky for me there were guys in the know,with personal access to the investors,who could spot common sense when they saw it.I now run 4 studios,and a disturbing ammount of those "uber-engineers" have come back begging for jobs or studio time.I love analog desks,(we have some)..I dig tape(we use that in studio 3)but I will not tolerate snubbing between formats anymore.Anyway,if you were a true tape-purist you wouldt even be ON this forum.If you have something constructive to say,say it.If you want to take somebody on,go for it.If you want to joke around and be a bit sarcastic,do it...but these little uderhanded jabs at digital as a format..BOY are you EVER in the WRONG place!! http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/images/icons/mad.gif

Edit:After posting this message I seriously cosidered deleting it..after all ,Clark,maby you were only speaking in jest,and thats cool..so if this is the case accept my appologies .But I leave this post on unedited 'cause maby it will start something.Its time guys who BELEIVE in their hard-drives stop being ashamed of it when in the precence of the Priest of Tape.Maby this will generate some interesting posts,or at least some amusing ones! http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/images/icons/wink.gif


[This message has been edited by Last (edited October 09, 2000).]

Ang1970
10-10-2000, 05:29 AM
Jules,

I'm a short guy, and the distance doesn't bother me a bit. I can still reach the clear meters button without a problem. Faders are not an issue at all either. IMO, it's more comfortable than an SSL because you can rest your entire forearm on it.

Trackball and keyboard fit very nicely on the armrest (padded leather, very comfy). When I need to type a lot (naming 5+ tracks at a time) I pull the keyboard right in front of me, otherwise it sits in the bit between the rack and the armrest on the right side. I'm still getting faster on the PC keyboard, so I need the real one less and less.



------------------
Angelo Quaglia
AQ Productions

Sjoko
10-24-2000, 01:55 AM
In defence of argosy, its an extremely comfortable thing, and the with of the armrest is just about perfect, definately not to big.
*grin* - and with the addition of a $7995 edit pack you won't have anymore keyboard / mouse problems

clarpark
10-24-2000, 07:58 PM
At Last!

No offense taken, Last. I was thrilled to read your heated response. I've been a Synclav guy since 89 and love digital. However, tracking a rock band on PT is a disaster waiting to happen. The resolution rears it's ugly head around guitar tracking time (about 20 tracks).

La de da, I could got on, but this is the wrong thread.

Later.