PDA

View Full Version : MIDI Implementation


bluemt
11-18-1999, 12:57 AM
I'm in the process of setting up the MIDI half of my project studio and was
wondering if anyone out there would share their studio configurations,
specifically how they integrated MIDI into their signal path and production
process.

I'm planning on using two controllers which I have - a Drum Kat and a
Roland synth, triggering samples from a Akai S-2000 and using some K1000 and
M1 sound modules. I'm using Protools for audio and will be using the PT 5.0
sequencer once it ships. I plan on using MIDI in my production process and
as the primary timing reference.

All thoughts, considerations, advice, anecdotes, signal/data flow schemes,
etc. that anyone can share on this subject are much appreciated.

Thanks

John

Nick Batzdorf
11-18-1999, 08:40 AM
The main thing is to look into a multiport MIDI interface, such as the ones made by MOTU and Emagic. All the inputs are merged into the computer, so you just move from controller to controller without switching anything.

And having every instrument on its own MIDI output lets you use patch changes to set up your studio when you call up a sequence; if you had multiple instruments on a single MIDI output you'd switch patches on every instrument assigned to the channel.

Is this the kind of advice you're looking for? The only other thing I can say is to set up your patchbay nicely or have enough mixer channels (or 88x audio interface inputs) so you can bring up your MIDI instruments without bother.

The whole key to any set-up is to make things easy to get at.

bluemt
11-18-1999, 06:45 PM
Yes, this information is helpful to me. Thanks.