PDA

View Full Version : how to sync PT4.0 to SVPro


peterfitz
11-03-1999, 06:01 AM
I have read the manuals but I'm still doing something wrong . . .

I would like to setup ProTools 4.01 so that it controls Midi-only playback on StudioVisionPro 3.5.6

can someone post step-by-step setup instruction ?

My MIDI interface is Studio4 btw.

AdamFrick
11-03-1999, 11:13 AM
Hi -

We're just getting this set up for our composer here, and though I am not in front of his machine, the basic idea is:

- setup ProTools (in the peripherals section) to output MTC to the IAC bus
- set Vision to read MTC from the IAC bus (I think there is a midi or sync options section)
- set Vision to time code and set it to play, then transport from PT
- one trick we missed at first is to make sure both PT and Vision are set to continue running MIDI in the background. Otherwise when you pull one or the other to the front, the other might die. :-(

hope that helps.

-adam

Richie Rodriguez
11-06-1999, 11:03 AM
Adam has the answers. My setup uses PT and vision running at the same time with no probs. I find it helpful to slide the edit and mix screens of PT down a little so I can see vision's bar/beat counter running in the background. One thing that hasn't been mentioned is that you need the IAC driver from OMS to be installed, it's not installed with the basic OMS, I think, and the IAC needs to appear in your current OMS setup. The tutorial in PT 4.3.1 manual explains this all fully....good luck