PDA

View Full Version : ProTools & Mac


Earjam
10-31-1999, 02:19 AM
What is the simplest G3 I can run small editing functions on? I want to transfer by cd, pieces of audio from my primary PT rig, to a secondary system, do some comping and tuning only, burn to a CD, and complete the process in the main PT rig. I want to create the most stripped down system I can!
Will an IMac work?

Strausz
07-24-2000, 09:42 PM
Who knows?

Frank Eleveld
07-28-2000, 12:38 AM
Theorethically, an iMac will work for these purposes. But since an iMac has a built-in CD-ROM/DVD-drive which isn't capable of writing CD-R's, I would suggest that you should look to, e.g., a second-hand G3, if a low-cost machine is what you're looking for.
Since an iMac has only USB ports and no SCSI for communicating with other devices, connecting an external CD-R drive would be almost impossible.
An older G3 like the G3/MT has SCSI as standard, and these are even available in an AV-version with fitted audio and video inputs and outputs on RCA jacks. Furthermore, these machines can be expanded much more easily than an iMac.

Hope I helped.

Frank www.dsbstudios.nl (http://www.dsbstudios.nl)

eldog
07-29-2000, 10:11 PM
Why not forget the CD's and use Ethernet to transfer your files?