PDA

View Full Version : SOS:How to get the highest vocal level with ProTools.

Earjam
10-23-1999, 01:59 PM
I'm not completely clear on your entire problem, but The gist is that you have a low level going to PT.
Follow this Procedure:
Make sure you are running your mic pre as hot as you can without breaking up.
If the pre doesn't have a vu/peak meter, or at very least a peak light,you need to use a compressor that can display input level as well as gain reduction.
It is very important not to distort the micpre, or the input section of the compressor. Once you have established these levels you can use the gain make up on the compressor to achieve the desired level to PT.
If there are still problems with you your signal, calibrate your I/Os.
That Should solve your problem.

MULOMBA K.LUABEYA
10-24-1999, 12:19 AM
As a beginner I have the following equipments:
#1- An Audio Interface 888/24.
#2- A Focusrite dual mic pre.
#3- A SoundTracs Mixer.
#4- A TLM 193 Georg Nuemann Mic.
#5- External compressor,Gate,Denoiser items
#6- ProTools,Waves,TcTools...Plug-ins.
I get the best recorded audio signal with other instruments than the Mic when I either use
- ProTools,Focusrite mic pre,and Audio Interface 888/24. Or,
- ProTools, SoundTracs Mixer,and Audio Interface 888/24.
Please tell me what I am missing here when I am using my Mic.All vocal levels are low when I directly record into ProTools 24.However the audio feedback I get through singer booth headphones is so loud.

Thank you very much for your needed help.

[Benjamin]
10-24-1999, 02:32 AM
I understand your problem and I know the solutions. Basically there are several steps, but I don't think it'll do you much help if I tried to line them out for you. Instead, get some help to the studio.

------------------
[HYPERSONIC]

smack
10-25-1999, 02:38 PM
DonŽt overload your preŽs, put your 888/24 in -10 setting and youŽll get the signal you need without trashing you Focusrite.

Mats

dBHEAD
10-28-1999, 01:10 PM