PDA

View Full Version : Pro Tools LE 8 plug-ins won't load or re-install


themcool88
02-29-2016, 02:05 PM
Had to re-install ProTools 8LE for reasons too boring to go into, which was nightmare enough of course (PT wouldn't recognize my Digi003, altho the computer did, etc. etc.) - ANYWAY, days-wasted later, PT itself is running OK, but when it was re-installed, none of the plugins - Xpand, BombFactory, Minigrand, etc.- none installed with it.
In poking around elsewhere in the forum i see that Xpand, etc. don't re-install with a PT re-installation "because the size of the plugins is too large". I have a CD which i used for the ORIGINAL install - but the computer tells me it's "not a valid Win32 operation".
SO. I can't download the plugins, and I can't install them from my own CDs either. It's PT8.0.4 LE, running (or USED to, somewhat) on a Win7 system, plenty of RAM, extra drive, blablabla.
How can I get my plugins re-installed and move on to the next roadblock that PT throws up in the re-installation process?

unkJE
02-29-2016, 09:50 PM
Perhaps re-installing PT LE 8.0.4 (Full Installer) would help – because you’re supposed to “Enable the Creative Collection (Mini Grand, Xpand etc) option within the Pro Tools installer”
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/troubleshooting/Virtual-Instruments-missing-after-Pro-Tools-install


http://secure.digidesign.com/services/avid/kb/downloads.cfm?digiArticleId=43353

Downloads
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.4 Full Installer (Win) [3456.93 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0 Full Installer (Mac OS 10.5 for PowerPC & Intel) supports LE interfaces including original Mbox [4152.55 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0 Full Installer (Windows XP/Vista) supports LE interfaces including original Mbox [3327.81 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 Updater (Windows XP/Vista/7) Previous Installation of Pro Tools LE 8.x Required [1019.6 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 Updater (Mac OS 10.5/10.6) Previous Installation of Pro Tools LE 8.x Required [1929.79 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 Full Installer (Windows XP/Vista) does not support original Mbox [3414.5 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.3 Full Installer (Mac OS 10.5/10.6 for Intel) does not support original Mbox or PowerPC [4793.4 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.1 Updater for Windows [709.17 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.1 Updater for Mac OS X [1503.47 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.1cs2 Update (Mac) [147.82 MB]
• Pro Tools LE 8.0.1cs2 Update (Windows) [73.34 MB]



Pro Tools LE 8.0.5 Updater (Windows XP/Vista/7) Previous Installation of Pro Tools LE 8.x Required
http://secure.digidesign.com/services/avid/kb/downloads.cfm?digiArticleId=42675&localeCode=en




http://secure.digidesign.com/services/avid/kb/downloads.cfm?digiArticleId=36913&localeCode=en
Bomb Factory Plug-in Updates for Pro Tools 8 — BF-2A, MC77, BF-3A, Fairchild 660/670
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/Download/en357289
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/compatibility/en343311

themcool88
02-29-2016, 10:05 PM
Thanks for your quick reply, unkJE....but i did that.....twice.
A little apologetic screen at the end of the install also says "there is 3rd party software that you may have installed. After installing PT, you'll have to load that content separately off your install-CD, or if you purchased PT by download, off a separate download".
But PT does NOT seem to have the plugins available as a download, and the CD doesn't work, after being used just twice and carefully stored in an envelope for 2 yrs.

unkJE
02-29-2016, 11:25 PM
I saw this old post – I hope it works for you:

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=1519289&postcount=7

"I could not get content libraries for Mini Grand, Boom or Xpand2 to load after update to Pro Tools 8.0.3. When I contacted support, they told me to uninstall Pro Tools, reinstall Pro Tools 8.0 (which now has Creative Collection), then reinstall update 8.0.3. After I did that everything works great with these 3 plugins. It is a long process (over 2 hours just to download 8.0), but well worth it to get these three plugins functional. None of my other plugins or authorizations were affected by the reinstallation.
Go to Program Files/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools Utilities and run the Uninstall Pro Tools application.
Reboot your PC. Reinstall Pro Tools 8.0 and when prompted for your hardware power up the 003 and click on OK.
When the installation completes reboot and double check the the Creative Collection has installed.
Reinstall 8.0.3."

unkJE
02-29-2016, 11:35 PM
More info:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/How_To/en207993
Pro Tools LE Options
To install a subset of Pro Tools software and plug-ins (and associated content), click the plus (+) next to Pro Tools LE 8.0 option in the Select Features page of the installer, and deselect any of the following options that you do not want installed.
Application Files (Required for Pro Tools) Installs the Pro Tools application and supporting library files needed to run Pro Tools. This option must be selected to install Pro Tools.
DigiRack Plug-Ins Installs free plug-ins including DigiRack plug-ins, free Bomb Factory plugins, Eleven Free, TL Utilities, and Digidesign D-Fi and Maxim plug-ins.
Pro Tools Creative Collection Installs a set of free RTAS effects plug-ins and virtual instrument plug-ins (including 4.4 GB of associated sample content). For more information, see the Creative Collection Plug-ins Guide.

unkJE
02-29-2016, 11:52 PM
Another old post:
http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=1771196&postcount=4

“phone or email customer service ... (who) might be able to send a download that includes the Creative Collection installer”

themcool88
03-01-2016, 05:53 AM
Thanks again, unkJE - I have 'checked' all the option boxes for various sub-programs in the PT installation folders, everything that wasn't specifically for Mac. (I'm running Wndows7) - several times. But those files, when installed, are all empty.
I believe PT wants you to get the 3rd party content (plugins) from either your purchased disc (not readable atm) or from some download which i can't find. But your last post looks promising for that, thank you.

themcool88
03-01-2016, 05:56 AM
....and when I say "promising", I mean "would look promising if there were an email addy or phone # you could reach Avid at without a 40$-per-incident fee". All their supposed "contact info" seems to lead to a list of FAQs and sales arenas.

sw rec
03-01-2016, 06:15 AM
This being in the AAX forum gives me cause for a good "Hmmmmm." Because your PT LE plugins need to be RTAS. PT 8 won't know what AAX is at all. And btw, you really should run the 8.0.5 updater if you're on Win 7.

themcool88
03-01-2016, 07:07 AM
It's under AAX b'c there is no forum listed for "ProTools plug-ins that don't work as they claim to". This was the closest.

themcool88
03-01-2016, 09:43 AM
I had to re-install PT8 LE due to a replaced hard drive, and with many roadblocks ad workarounds have finally got it to re-install. During the installation, it asks you to select (or de-select) whichever items you want to be installed with PT - including Creative Collection, the plugin set which includes Xpand2, MiniGrand, etc.
I've installed it 3 times now, each time asking it to install those plugins, and it will not. Why not?
Now PT opens "okayyyy...." but plugins are not accessible; in fact if i do an in-computer search (Windows7) the only Xpand files available are in the installation folder which I downloaded from Avid (I have a purchased CD but it's not loading; apparently using it twice was too much for it). They're sizable files, (file type ".big"); for expand about 1.46G. So that must be the file that needs to be installed. But how???
Any help would be appreciated; I've wasted days with this re-install.

unkJE
03-01-2016, 01:23 PM
The following article shows it’s an old problem with a Mac solution, which only works if you’ve the 5 plug-ins in your digidesign plug-ins folder.


I don’t have any of my AIR plug-ins that came with Pro Tools LE 8
http://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/articles/of-air-plug-ins-came-pro-tools-le-8/

I don’t have any of my AIR plug-ins that came with Pro Tools LE 8
• Article #33094
• Updated on Apr 17, 2012 at 7:06 PM
WARNING: You must have the plug-ins in your digidesign plug-ins folder (MacHD>library>digidesign>plug-ins) for the following to work. If not then you must receive a digidelivery from digidesign in order to install the actual plug-ins.
Download Tinker Tools (right hand side of page)
http://www.bresink.de/osx/0TinkerTool/download.html
Now doubleclick it Tinkertools to open, check ‘show hidden and system files’ at the top.
Click ‘relaunch Finder’
You can do the following with a PT 8 download or from the actual disk if you own one.
Extract the Pro Tools v80.dmg so you can see Installer and Uninstaller icons.
Go to the Pro Tools Installer (white hard drive) and stretch the window out. Now instead of just install and uninstall icons, you’ll see a light blue “hidden” folder titled Pro Tools LE Installer, double click that and inside will be the 5 Creative Collection Content folders. (Boom, Minigrand, Structure Free, Vacuum, Xpand2)
Drag those 5 folders of content to Applications / Digidesign / Pro Tools Creative Collection (create this folder if it’s missing)
Now go to my Digidelivery email to download the plug-ins themselves.

unkJE
03-01-2016, 02:08 PM
Moderators (or anyone who’s successfully used the following workaround) – please advise if this suggestion is feasible, as the OP (themcool88) needs the Creative Collection RTAS versions for Pro Tools 8 LE on Win7 64 (and I think the RTAS versions included in the Pro Tools 10 Installers should work in Pro Tools 8 LE).

Suggested steps:

Uninstall Pro Tools 8 LE.

Download and install Avid Virtual Instruments 10.
http://secure.digidesign.com/services/avid/kb/downloads.cfm?digiArticleId=43692
or
http://secure.digidesign.com/services/avid/kb/downloads.cfm?digiArticleId=43732

Avid Virtual Instruments 10.0 Installer (Win) [2592.73 MB]


Discard the 32bit AAX versions - keep the RTAS (.dpm and .dpm.rsr) versions.
RTAS Folder = C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-Ins
AAX32 Folder = C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Avid\Audio\Plug-Ins

Then install PT LE 8 and updates.


(Fingers crossed!)

themcool88
03-01-2016, 09:55 PM
Thank you so much for your research, info and your kind call from the other side of the planet today, unkJE! Have had some personal issues here but will get on your suggests ASAP.