PDA

View Full Version : HELP NEEDED! Multiple region edits at once?


Estock
11-08-2015, 01:52 PM
Hello all,

I've been an HD user for years and I've always lurked, but never posted. Today I ran into an issue that is driving me mad, so I signed up hoping one of you brains new the answer. He goes nothing...

I'm working on a HUGE project for a drum sample library (over 140GB at 48k). I've made all the edits and fades, mixed everything, and printed the mix to new tracks. This printed are, obviously, now one massive region, versus all of the original tracks were edited. Is there any way to select all of the original edited regions at once, without the space in between each region (like you can with the object tool), and apply the edit start and stop points to the printed track below all at once? I can't imagine there isn't a way to do this.

Based on everything I can find, I'll have to select the original edit, drop the selection down to the track below using ";" and then used "Cmd + E" to separate the selection for every single hit. I have somewhere in the neighborhood of 50,000 hits! Is there an easier way to do this? Any help is SERIOUSLY appreciated.

Carl Kolchak
11-08-2015, 03:11 PM
Strip Silence.

Probably best to do it in a series of manageable sections, rather than try all at once, though that would work.



Alternatively, if you still have the original track, with all the edits intact, you could group that with the new track, tab to region boundary, and hit b (to cut) at the start, and end of the first clip, and from then on hit a (to trim start) at the start of each clip, and b at the end of each clip, until the final clip where you'd hit s (to trim end).

joachim
11-09-2015, 05:41 AM
Carl, I think I learned this from you in a thread about room tone "auto-filling".
It might be applied to the OP's situation, basically, it is a double procedure of yours.
Duplicate the print track,
Object select the edits in the edit track, move them to the first print track, hit B, move the moved edited clips right away back to its edit track- now only the unwanted empty space is left in the first print track (a kind of a negative mask),
object select those unwanted empty space clips in this first print track,
move them to the second print track, hit delete - print track cut like the edited clips.

joachim
11-09-2015, 05:41 AM
... and the last 2 pics.

And then the auto-renaming of the cut clips and exporting.

Estock
11-09-2015, 07:03 AM
Carl, I think I learned this from you in a thread about room tone "auto-filling".
It might be applied to the OP's situation, basically, it is a double procedure of yours.
Duplicate the print track,
Object select the edits in the edit track, move them to the first print track, hit B, move the moved edited clips right away back to its edit track- now only the unwanted empty space is left in the first print track (a kind of a negative mask),
object select those unwanted empty space clips in this first print track,
move them to the second print track, hit delete - print track cut like the edited clips.

You, sir, are a scholar and a saint! I never thought of using one track as a mask. Good stuff! I still have faith in humanity.

Carl Kolchak
06-12-2017, 11:12 AM
Carl, I think I learned this from you in a thread about room tone "auto-filling".
It might be applied to the OP's situation, basically, it is a double procedure of yours.
Duplicate the print track,
Object select the edits in the edit track, move them to the first print track, hit B, move the moved edited clips right away back to its edit track- now only the unwanted empty space is left in the first print track (a kind of a negative mask),
object select those unwanted empty space clips in this first print track,
move them to the second print track, hit delete - print track cut like the edited clips.



Yeah, I've forgotten more about Pro Tools than I'll ever know [emoji57]


[emoji16]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

joachim
06-12-2017, 12:27 PM
Nice from you, to respond.

Carl Kolchak
06-13-2017, 06:26 AM
Nice from you, to respond.



Only took me 18 months [emoji3]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk