PDA

View Full Version : What are your favorite plug-ins for vocals?

Trace305
09-30-2015, 03:53 PM
Hello,

I am a small-time artist who self-produces using Pro-Tools 8. Two of my big weaknesses are producing radio-ready vocals and acoustic guitar. What are some of your favorite plug-ins to use to beef up vocal performances? I have Melodyne for pitch-correction, but it's not quite enough.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

sw rec
09-30-2015, 04:13 PM
Universal Audio/SSL Channel strip. Magic when used intelligently!

albee1952
09-30-2015, 04:23 PM
My usual chain is :
EQ III 7 band(for high-pass and minor tone adjust)>
BF76 (gentle GR)>
SMACK!(more squash and some "character")>
Waves Puigtech EQ1-A(for air and sparkle)
Waves Renn DeEsser(once in a blue moon) automated to be bypassed except when its really needed.
Aux send to a touch of a plate reverb and maybe some Echoboy

Most of my De-essing is done manually with volume automation, Clip Gain or Audiosuite EQ cuts on the offending bits:o

Southsidemusic
09-30-2015, 04:24 PM
Getting "radio ready" music takes years and years of experience and the absolutely MOST IMPORTANT part is the signal chain /

Mic - Pre - Interface - Computer

If this chain is A+ then you would not have to add much what so ever in plugins.

When we know we can't make the recordings any better even if we sold our souls we put max an EQ (UA or Slate) and maybe .. just maybe an SSL Bus Comp from UA or Duende and thats it :-)

The less plugins the better and believe me, fixing it in the mix will get tossed around quite a bit but when listeing to the radio on the biggest and best pop songs you can hear the dollars spent on outboard gear.

We work with writing and producing for some of the biggest Artists and DJ's in the world and it doesn't matter how much we try to "fix it in the mix" if done badly or with cheaper homestudio gear it will never sound the same.