PDA

View Full Version : Unable to hear myself when recording

wendydowd
07-21-2015, 07:30 AM
Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to the game and am having some trouble. Im using PT 12 - the main issue is me not being able to hear myself in my headphones while recording randomly - sometimes it works, sometimes it doesnt. I've tried narrowing down a cause or fix but it seems to be completely up in the air and will randomly just not work like it should. I have seen others have the same issue but none of the advice that was given to them has worked for me.

I'm starting to think it may be a hardware issue (my headphones are pretty old, and cheap, and not specifically designed for such purposes). Anyways, I'm in the market for some headphones, and maybe even a decent monitor... max $300-$400 budget for each, but I'd prefer to spend a little less on the headphones. Any suggestions to help a girl out? :-)

luceeloo
07-21-2015, 10:02 AM
Do you mind me asking what recording interface you are using? Is it the MBox?

As far as headphones go you have some wiggle room as far as what you could get away with. You can find some for around $100 that will do just fine, but if you have more to spend that's fine too, you get what you pay for. Check out this guide (http://www.pricenfees.com/best-studio-headphones-under-100.html) for some ideas. Don't take the ratings order too seriously.. not sure I agree completely with the ranks they gave, but most of the headphones on there are decent and relatively cheap. No need to spend a fortune, once you've passed the beginner stage, then you could consider upgrading to something more serious.

Finding decent monitors is a bit more tricky IMO. You don't really want to skimp on those, and you will probably be using them for the majority of your time. I currently use the KRK RP5G3 Rokit 5 gen. 3's.

I believe they are in your price range, but hopefully someone else can chime in because for that amount of money I think I could have done better.